Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6T5.441317

The secret passage to the house next door leads to a fascinating adventure.

The Magician's Nephew, the first book of The Chronicles of Narnia ... where the woods are thick and cool, where the Talking Beasts are called to life ... a new world where the adventure begins.

Digory and Polly meet and become friends one cold, wet summer in London. Their lives burst into adventure when Digory's Uncle Andrew, who thinks he is a magician, sends them hurtling to ... somewhere else. They find their way to Narnia, newborn from the Lion's song, and encounter the evil sorceress Jadis, before they finally return home.

Read by Kenneth Branagh

Hardcover, 171 pages
ISBN-10: 0001844423
ISBN-13: 9780001844421
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gandradee
    gandradeeThursday, August 20, 2020 at 9:42 am55 stars
    I was supposed to read "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" for summer reading, but I found out it was the second book in the series and refused to read it until I read the first one, and I'm glad I did! This book was so creative and such a wonderful way to introduce us to the exquisite land of Narnia. And in case you were wondering, yes, I did read the next book, but I actually prefer this one!
    • xyderahahi
      xyderahahiWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 3:14 pm55 stars
      It was so interesting I'm reading the next book now
      • harryluna9
        harryluna9Friday, May 20, 2016 at 10:55 am55 stars
        Beautiful imagery and masterful way of introducing the world of Narnia.
        • Superawesome101Friday, May 13, 2016 at 6:25 am
          I loved it so much almost as much as I love the movies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • 19allisonb
            19allisonbThursday, October 8, 2015 at 12:23 pm
            I'm reading the series and it is awesome
            • americangirl4
              americangirl4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 9:26 am
              I really like this book because the book had lots of action and it was very interesting when Jadis got weak in the portal another world. This book also leaves lots of questions. Like how many years how Jadis lived? Why did Jadis lose her power in earth? I recommend this book if you like action.
              • tauriel
                taurielMonday, June 1, 2015 at 1:19 pm33 stars
                The ''magician'' is so funny. When the two children accidentally awaken Jadis, and bring her home, the magician and England find themselves in trouble.
                • nerdybanana
                  nerdybananaThursday, April 16, 2015 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                  A fantasy/Christian book, Really detailed and some funny bits I highly reccomend this book
                  • hogger
                    hoggerThursday, November 21, 2013 at 12:24 pm55 stars
                    This is the most awesome'st book ever because it talks about how Narnia first began. I recommend this book because I know C. S. Lewis is a great christian author.
                    • jenntimeflies
                      jenntimefliesSaturday, March 16, 2013 at 12:35 pm55 stars
                      A bit fast-paced, but overall fantabulous. I love how The Magician's Nephew explains Narnia and the time Narnia was just born...Really, this is a great book. Totally recommend it along with the other books in the series.