Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.348134

Molly and Miri Gill are twins. They look the same, act the same, sometimes even think the same. But they weren't always twins. . . . Molly used to live in 1935, until Miri traveled back in time to save her from the clutches of Molly's evil adoptive family. Only they know about the magic, and its power to set things right. So when home repairs unleash more unexpected magic from their very special . . . very magical old house, the girls set off on another time-traveling adventure to the Civil War where they race against the clock to save two unusual soldiers and come to terms with the truth about Molly's real past.
Brimming with lovable characters and spine-tingling magic, this long-awaited sequel will bring a whole new batch of readers to Annie Barrows' highly acclaimed, wonderfully popular world of twin-inspired magic.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1619634821
ISBN-13: 9781619634824
23 Book Reviews
  • enchanted7
    enchanted7Wednesday, October 21, 2015 at 1:25 am55 stars
    I love this book! I want to buy it! I only read it at the library and then it got overdue, so I have to return it but I just checked it out again.
    • SiennaSaturday, May 9, 2015 at 6:18 am
      I love this book This book is about to girls who can go though time they go with their silly brothers to the Civil war. It was fun in till Civil war people think their enemies and want the girls brothers to be hanged the girls try as hard as they can to get them back read the book and see what happens Will it be happily ever after? or happily never after?
      • SiennaSaturday, May 9, 2015 at 6:07 am
        I love this book its about to girls twins who go back in time and go into the Civil war with their silly brothers it was fun in till Civil war people think there brothers are enemies and want to hang them. The girls do all they can to save their brothers and save them!! Then they went home and lived happily for the rest of the book. THE END
        • selina
          selinaSunday, October 5, 2014 at 3:14 pm55 stars
          The story of this book is about two twins who always go back in time. The two girls go back in time with their silly brothers. Then a long time later the boys got caught by a Civil War soldier. The girls did all they could to save their brothers and the girls finally saved the boys and went home and lived happily for the rest of the book...:)
          • lsf1
            lsf1Saturday, October 4, 2014 at 12:47 pm33 stars
            In the sequel to "The Magic Half," Miri and Molly are back with another time travel dilemma to fix. I have not read the first book, yet I still found the book pretty good. In this installment, Miri and Molly accidentally get sent back to the past, but not exactly the same time period. While Molly figures out mysteries of her past, Miri has to face the truth; will Molly choose her first life, or second? Meanwhile, the two have to save their family, both present and past, from the disastrous events of the Civil War. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes the idea of time travel and liked "The Magic Half."
            • jess1018
              jess1018Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 1:54 pm44 stars
              Two sets of twins and one set of triplets, but one wasnt always there. Welcome back to this book series(im not really sure what the series is called) but this time with magic in the mix. It all starts out where Miri and Molly left off in book one, except the house calls on them again.After Molly meets her mother an dfather (back in time) , she starts to wonder if she is tp prevent herself from being born, and does just that (tries to prevent not acually does that).It is up to the twins to figure out and solve why the are sent back to the war, what is so popular with Gypsies, and why the magic wants them again. I really liked this book and the author put more thought into her book than you would think.
              • awesomface338
                awesomface338Monday, September 29, 2014 at 1:54 pm
                I have also read ivy and bean
                • JamingJamSaturday, September 27, 2014 at 11:04 am
                  Nice Reveiw nancydrew963
                  • nancydrew963
                    nancydrew963Friday, September 26, 2014 at 5:16 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Miri and Molly are honestly sweet in "Magic in the Mix." They're key ingredients that make this story endearingly cute. It's not an extremely intriguing tale that had me on the edge of my seat at every page, but it was a decent book. You don't need to read the first book to understand this one because the author fills the reader in on what happened previously, but it was so lighthearted that I had no problem speeding through it. Although I wouldn't read the sequel, it was a good book. I recommend this for you if you're into books like Ivy and Bean or books with a fluffy, PG adventure.
                    • Erogon_GurlWednesday, September 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm
                      its really cool ( its what i think)