Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.249919
“A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds.”—Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street

In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative—based on the author’s childhood in the 1960s—a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed. Ruthie’s plight will intrigue readers, and her powerful story of strength and resilience, full of color, light, and poignancy, will stay with them for a long time.

Ruthie Mizrahi and her family recently emigrated from Castro’s Cuba to New York City. Just when she’s finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English—and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood’s hopscotch queen—a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined her to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie’s world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she comes to understand how fragile life is, how vulnerable we all are as human beings, and how friends, neighbors, and the power of the arts can sweeten even the worst of times.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on April 11, 2017 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399546448
ISBN-13: 9780399546440
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • sugar_andspice
    sugar_andspiceFriday, February 16, 2018 at 7:16 am55 stars
    The reason I love this book is that it explores Ruthie's world in a vivid way. When you picture Ruth Behar's point of view as a child, you see color and fun. This autobiography is great and I recommend that you read it.
    • m1lk3y_w4y
      m1lk3y_w4ySaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:37 am55 stars
      Ruthie is an ordinary girl who just moved to America. She loves hopscotch and Gogo boots and is determined to stay the neighborhood's hopscotch queen. When her dad gets a blue Oldsmobile, Ruthie is anything but depressed. She eagerly waits for the first ride, and it's a blast! Unfortunately, the car gets into a car crash on the way home, leaving Ruthie in a full body cast. This cast confines her to the bed for months, not able to move. At first, Ruthie mourns her loss and hates life, but gradually, she makes new friends and becomes happier. This book is for anyone who loves a sad but happy book, or enjoys a good adventure. I give this book 5 stars!
      • mysterygal
        mysterygalTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 4:04 pm
        I enjoyed reading this book! If you are looking for a meaningful, quick read, I suggest this book. It is the story of a young girl, Ruthie, who has just moved into a small apartment in New York from Cuba. Finally beginning to settle in- making friends, getting into the "smart class", learning English, etc,- her family is caught in a horrible car accident. Ruthie is confined to a full-body cast. The rest is the story of how Ruthie learned to be patient and grateful for what she has, and the healing process of her and her family. :)
        • snowyowl
          snowyowlTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 6:30 pm55 stars
          This is my FAVOURITE BOOK in the WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • princesspower2
            princesspower2Monday, August 7, 2017 at 2:34 pm
            This book is very good. Ruthie had just moved into america, when she and her family got into a car accident. Ruthie had a broken leg, and had to have a cast cover the lower half of her body. It is very hard for Ruthie, especially because she had been moved into the more advanced class at school, and she was supposed to join the smart kids the next day. I loved this book, thanks Dogo for giving it to me!! I really recommended this book!!
            • 5680saf
              5680safMonday, July 24, 2017 at 2:29 pm
              This book is about a girl named Ruthie. She is having a great life in America, until she gets into a car accident and has a cast cover her entire lower half of her body. As the book goes on, it shows how bravery and perseverance can let you do anything. You should read this book! It is such a good story.
              • avaiscool123
                avaiscool123Tuesday, June 13, 2017 at 6:29 am
                cool
                • unicorn992
                  unicorn992Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:11 pm
                  LOVE THIS STORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book is about Ruthie. Ruthie gets in a car crash and brakes her leg. This is a book about how she recovers. It is very heartfelt. it is also kinda sad. BUT I STILL LOVE IT!!!!!
                  • ellsworth2424
                    ellsworth2424Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at 12:36 pm55 stars
                    I like everything about this book! The main character suffers from a terrible accident that leaves her unable to walk for a full year, but the book isn't completely sad. I like the way the family remembers their lives back in Cuba, making foods and following customs from their native land. I like the way the main character's family helps her through the accident and her recuperation. The book offers people in bad situations lots of hope. It's the type of book that just makes you feel good to read. I would recommend it.
                    • Raven345Friday, June 2, 2017 at 7:37 pm
                      This book is beautiful and heart touching please go ahead and read it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...