Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T3.02019
Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria love working with cars. You name it, they can fix it. But the team's favorite cars of all are lowriders—cars that hip and hop, dip and drop, go low and slow, bajito y suavecito. The stars align when a contest for the best car around offers a prize of a trunkful of cash—just what the team needs to open their own shop! ¡Ay chihuahua! What will it take to transform a junker into the best car in the universe? Striking, unparalleled art from debut illustrator Raul the Third recalls ballpoint-pen-and-Sharpie desk-drawn doodles, while the story is sketched with Spanish, inked with science facts, and colored with true friendship. With a glossary at the back to provide definitions for Spanish and science terms, this delightful book will educate and entertain in equal measure.
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on November 4, 2014 by Chronicle Books
ISBN-10: 1452121559
ISBN-13: 9781452121550
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • super10
    super10Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 6:42 am
    This was a book that I decided to read for Bluebonnet voting, and I didn't know what I was in for! In my eyes, the savvy Spanish words, and the beautiful pictures offered a one two punch for me! In this book, three mechanics, Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria decide to build a car for a car competition. They travel all over space and their home to collect car parts for a broken car, that they which to renovate. Will they win, that's all for you to find out! I would recommend this book because of its great pictures, and the funny story line. It was truly a book I couldn't put down!
    • coreycole
      coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:23 am44 stars
      i like that theres spanish words in here and the dictionary pages in the back to tell you what the spanish and science words mean helped a topn! now im excited to learn more spanish
      • frahay123
        frahay123Monday, August 29, 2016 at 3:21 pm44 stars
        Low Riders in Space is a great graphical novel ,and it is very interesting and wants you to read on. I would want everyone to read on.
        • memoiloveit
          memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 7:07 am22 stars
          I thought it was okay although I don't like these types of books. It has spanish words which confuses me, so when I need to check the glossary it distracts me from the actual book.
          • llpanda
            llpandaMonday, August 22, 2016 at 11:33 am11 star
            Low Riders in Space is all about a group of friends who want to start there own car garage but don't have the money. Then a contest comes up that could be the answer to their problems. Build the best car and win the prize. Their car is good but it could be better so they head off to space to collect out of this world parts for their car. Will they succeed in their dream?
            • lionel123
              lionel123Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 10:52 am55 stars
              I like because it has space.I also like it because it has Spanish.I like the artwork. I like the cat Genie.I think other people will like this book.
              • readingbr
                readingbrSunday, August 7, 2016 at 9:46 pm11 star
                I didn't like this book. I don't like these kind of books. I really didn't like all the spanish words, but there is a glossary at the end of the book if you need it like I did to explain the spanish words.
                • snicker9
                  snicker9Sunday, July 31, 2016 at 5:31 pm44 stars
                  Lowrider's through space is a comic book about three characters: Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria. The trio love their work with cars and are excellent at their jobs. They dream of one day opening their own garage, but in order to do that they need money. Then one day they see an advertisement for a contest, the coolest car contest. The group decides to build their own Lowrider, their favorite type of car. So they go off on a journey through Earth and space in order to improve their car. A very interesting part about this book is that parts are written in Spanish. All the words spoken in Spanish are translated at the bottom. So the words and phrases add culture to the story. I recommend this book to elementary students who enjoy comic books. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
                  • strawberry1234
                    strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 12:33 pm55 stars
                    this is a funny book there were a lot of them. this book is cool you should read this book it is one of the best books
                    • awesomessb
                      awesomessbTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 3:23 pm44 stars
                      This book is about 3 mechanics who enter in a universal car competition, where they have to try todesign the best car. They go on a crazy outer space adventure, and ___________ . This book is really good, but it is short and could have more detail. I think you'll enjoy it!