Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V3.860904

The New York Times bestselling sequel to Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli’s modern-day classic Stargirl!

Love, Stargirl picks up a year after Stargirl ends and reveals the new life of the beloved character who moved away so suddenly at the end of Stargirl. The novel takes the form of "the world's longest letter," in diary form, going from date to date through a little more than a year's time. In her writing, Stargirl mixes memories of her bittersweet time in Mica, Arizona, with involvements with new people in her life.

In Love, Stargirl, we hear the voice of Stargirl herself as she reflects on time, life, Leo, and - of course - love.

Don’t miss Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


Paperback, 288 pages
Published on April 28, 2009 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
31 Book Reviews
  • sokeefe_forever
    sokeefe_foreverFriday, September 4, 2020 at 2:23 pm55 stars
    It was good. Not as good as the first one but I still really liked it. Like most books, it had it's odds and ends, but I recommend it definitely if you've read the first one so you mind if know what happened. it's kind of a cool book. 😎
    • LllSunday, January 26, 2020 at 12:38 am
      Amazing I can read this book all over and over again
      • moonlightwolf
        moonlightwolfFriday, January 24, 2020 at 8:48 am55 stars
        I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 5:41 pm55 stars
          YES!!!!! I finished this and it is exactly how I wanted it! If you have not read this, please do. It is such a great book, it is so intriguing. I recommend this for any age really, I read it when I was in 6th grade. Don't read this if you don't want it spoiled, but I am soooo glad that Dandy kissed her. That made me oddly happy!!!
          • stellaluna
            stellalunaThursday, January 23, 2020 at 7:00 am
            I have read the Stargirl, but not this book, comment if you can tell me what it is about, and is it worth getting.
            • roxanne3
              roxanne3Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 5:48 pm55 stars
              I am almost done with this, I read the first one and LOVED it. I immediately fell in love with Dootsie and Alivna, though Perry is pretty great too!!
              • hedgeguin2
                hedgeguin2Monday, June 10, 2019 at 5:28 am55 stars
                In the book, Love, Stargirl, Stargirl writes letters about her new life since she moved from Arizona to Pennsylvania to Leo, her once and maybe future boyfriend. Stargirl writes about her life and her new neighbors, five year old Dootsie, Betty Lou, who hasn’t stepped out of her house in 9 years, hot-tempered Alvina, and Perry Delloplane, who, in his own way, starts to find his way into Stargirl’s heart. These character’s lives all twine together in this amazing, powerful sequel to Stargirl.
                • freckleface04
                  freckleface04Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 6:53 am33 stars
                  i thot this book was sad i need to read the third to judge this series it was pretty good but it was also sad
                  • roxanne3
                    roxanne3Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 5:43 pm55 stars
                    please tell me why you think it is sad. I respectfully disagree. I mean, it is a little, but a kind of happy sad.
                  • prettygirl101Friday, March 9, 2018 at 11:09 am
                    its a fun book
                    • prettygirl101Friday, March 9, 2018 at 11:08 am
                      i liked this book