From two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo comes a story of discovering who you are — and deciding who you want to be.

When Louisiana Elefante’s granny wakes her up in the middle of the night to tell her that the day of reckoning has arrived and they have to leave home immediately, Louisiana isn’t overly worried. After all, Granny has many middle-of-the-night ideas. But this time, things are different. This time, Granny intends for them never to return. Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana struggles to oppose the winds of fate (and Granny) and find a way home. But as Louisiana’s life becomes entwined with the lives of the people of a small Georgia town — including a surly motel owner, a walrus-like minister, and a mysterious boy with a crow on his shoulder — she starts to worry that she is destined only for good-byes. (Which could be due to the curse on Louisiana's and Granny’s heads. But that is a story for another time.)

Called “one of DiCamillo’s most singular and arresting creations” by The New York Times Book Review, the heartbreakingly irresistible Louisiana Elefante was introduced to readers in Raymie Nightingale — and now, with humor and tenderness, Kate DiCamillo returns to tell her story.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 2, 2018 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763694630
ISBN-13: 9780763694630
12 Book Reviews
  • teolove
    teoloveMonday, November 23, 2020 at 9:50 am44 stars
    I really liked this book! I also like Kate DiCamillo's other books, and I like Louisiana's personality. I think you should totally read this book!
    • npetlover
      npetloverThursday, February 25, 2021 at 8:17 am55 stars
      Totally agree!
    • iamrobot
      iamrobotWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 2:59 pm55 stars
      Louisiana's way home is about a girl whose grandmother wakes her up because she has a curse on her head and must leave her home . At the hotel motel where Louisiana and her grandmother are staying, Louisiana's grandmother goes to Elf Ear, Louisiana to confront the curse. I like this book because I like that Louisiana is sometimes funny.
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 12:43 pm44 stars
        This was a good book. Louisiana's granny gets her up in the middle of the night and says they have to leave. Louisiana thinks she will be coming home again, but she is not prepared when Granny drives her over the state line. She thinks it is horrible, and when her granny leaves her a note telling her her whole life was built on lies and leaves Louisiana alone in the world, she doesn't have a clue what to do. Then she finds a family, and she decides to stay. It was a pretty good ending, I do wish she had gone back to Raymie and Beverly though!!
        • mawaddah
          mawaddahSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 1:44 pm55 stars
          i love it and my bestest friend left the school without saying goodbye to me or my best friend but i had gave her a friendship braclet that we promised we will never forget she was just like Lousisana
          • raindrop07
            raindrop07Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 1:33 pm33 stars
            Louisiana Elephante's life is twisted upside down when she wakes up in the middle of the night to have her Granny say that they must leave their home immediately! Louisiana believes it won't be long before her Granny changes her mind and goes home, but, no... Granny is on a mission...! Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana tries to figure out what her life will become...and how she will get home. Louisiana's Way Home by Kate DiCamillo is a very interesting story full of fate, curses and stubborn grandmothers!
            • applebutter
              applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 10:53 am44 stars
              I am reading Raymie Nightingale right now and it breaks my heart to think the Louisiana is going to move away :( This news makes my heart ach.
              • auntieb
                auntiebThursday, May 30, 2019 at 10:27 am55 stars
                Ah! I love this book it is so good! Louisana is woken up in the middle of the night by her Granny which isn't unusual but the one thing that is.......is that Granny isn't turning around. By daylight usually Granny is heading straight back to Florida, but instead she's heading straight to Georgia for "the day of reckoning has arrived."How will Louisana manage without her friends Raymie and Beverly? And how will she get back home? And on the way home what will she learn about her parents, The Flying Elephantes? Discover lots about Lousiana's past and present in this amazing companion novel to Raymie Nightingale!
                • raindrop07
                  raindrop07Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 9:58 am33 stars
                  Louisiana Elephante's life is twisted upside down when she wakes up in the middle of the night to have her Granny say that they must leave their home immediately! Louisiana believes it won't be long before her Granny changes her mind and goes home, but, no... Granny is on a mission...! Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana tries to figure out what her life will become...and how she will get home. Louisiana's Way Home by Kate DiCamillo is a very interesting story full of fate, curses and stubborn grandmothers!
                  • akamazing
                    akamazingThursday, February 28, 2019 at 2:13 pm33 stars
                    This book looks interesting, and I should read it
                    • stellaluna
                      stellalunaSunday, February 24, 2019 at 7:09 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Louisiana climbs into a car like a heap of depression. Tears falling from her eyes. Her Granny is taking her somewhere where she finds hard secrets, and new friendships. Although she misses her friends Raymie Clarke and Beverly dearly, she must find a way where she can go without them. Another great read my Kate, and you must take the task to read this incredible book, ending with an ending that may effect people differently. Read to find out.