Loser by Jerry Spinelli, Eileen Spinelli (Editor), Joanna Cotler (Editor)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.336204

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Paperback
Published on July 12, 2009 by by Jerry Spinelli, Eileen Spinelli (Editor), Joanna Cotler (Editor)
53 Book Reviews
  • xmarcelax
    xmarcelaxabout 2 months55 stars
    Dear readers, I know this looks like a long review, but please read it. This year, after summer, our English teacher showed us a book he really liked. It was called Loser. He explained what the book was about but I didn't really understand it. Because you can read better than explain, right? A month later he gave us an assignment. We had to read Loser and answer questions. Sometimes we read it out loud or on our own. In chapters 1, 2, and 3, I didn't really understand it and it seemed boring. (If you're going to read the book, don't skip any chapters.) Then on every page, it got more interesting. I kept reading it and I finally finished it. This book is about a boy named Zinkoff (Donald Zinkoff), who's in first grade. On his very first day, he was very excited to go. He brought his favourite giraffe hat to school. The teacher tells him there are 2160 days of his life in school left. Zinkoff was really happy. In his journey through his life, Zinkoff had many things happen to him. Like being left out. He's much different than other kids. He believes in many things you probably never thought of. But he never really lets anything bother him. Days pass, months, years. The end of fifth grade comes, and he's very sad. He will miss everything because he's going to middle school. And somehow, a loser became a hero. I never really had a favourite book, but this book deserves it. Trust me, it's much better than it seems. I'm in sixth grade and I recommend this book for grades 5-8. I hope you read it. You will laugh and you will cry. I hope you enjoy it.
    • tay2
      tay2about 2 months55 stars
      I just finished reading this book I loved it but my favorite part was the ending.
      • zoec9
        zoec9about 2 months55 stars
        Loser is a tender story about Donald Zinkoff, a young character who demonstrates great self-acceptance and who is not afraid to fail. With the encouragement of his family, he learns to approach life with a positive spirit and to enjoy all that it has to offer. I highly recommend this book.
        • aidry
          aidry3 months
          This book is very detailed i love it right know i am on chapter 10
          • carina732
            carina7323 months55 stars
            I love this book! What I liked about this book is that there are more than one character! And Zinkoff is different! The best part that liked was when Zinkoff made a sugar cookie for his neighbor Andrew! Zinkoff is very kind!
            • carina732
              carina7323 months55 stars
              I love this book so far i really like it!
              • carina732
                carina7323 months55 stars
                this book is the best book ever love it!!
                • aleksandra5150
                  aleksandra51503 months55 stars
                  I wanted to read this book for a long time and i finally read it and i think it's very interest, i think chapter 7 and 8 is very funny.
                  • tay2
                    tay23 months55 stars
                    i love it I read it in grade 6
                    • noosh5
                      noosh53 months
                      Right now I'm on chapter 10? I'm liking the book so far. Zinkoff is different and that means he's unique, everyone is in their own way. Anyways I like this book.