Loser by Jerry Spinelli, Eileen Spinelli (Editor), Joanna Cotler (Editor)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.336204

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on March 1, 2003 by Collins
ISBN-10: 0007143788
ISBN-13: 9780007143788
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Bob the guyMonday, June 18, 2018 at 9:09 am
    I was sadly forced to read this book last year for summer reading. I am not too fond of this book, it's nice how he tries to find a little girl who gets lost in a storm.. but in the end.. *spoiler* he doesn't even find the girl. Turns out the little girl was found hours ago and Zinkoff was the one trying to be found! He laughs so hard at the easiest things.. and his name doesn't make too much sense either? And he randomly vomits too? Now I can see how the book got it's title. Maybe someone else will like this book better than I did. He tries to find a girl but he doesn't find her, he vomits, picked on at school, laughs at EVERY little thing, and his name is ZINKOFF.
    • allison2314
      allison2314Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
      I loved the book allot totally recommend you read itπŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜
      • celekovymu
        celekovymuThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:13 am44 stars
        Zinkoff is a great person to learn from when you are being teased and you can learn a lot of lessons from him
        • fabbeauty
          fabbeautyThursday, September 28, 2017 at 3:31 am
          At school we are doing book clubs and we are reading Loser! Its bout this kid called Zinkoff but aka Mr.Weirdo and how he is a Loser pretty awesome book! I recommend 4th-5th graders read this.
          • e06
            e06Friday, March 10, 2017 at 5:25 pm
            Me and my classmates recently finished this book. I highly recommend this book if you like " The Warden's Daughter" , " Stargirl", and " Wringer" . This book is action-packed. Its shows the bullied child's side of the story. His kindness towards some. You should read it!
            • missadair27
              missadair27Friday, September 2, 2016 at 9:03 pm55 stars
              We are currently reading this book during Read Aloud; the kids love it!
              • porky18
                porky18Friday, April 15, 2016 at 11:28 am
                i love loser
                • whovian111
                  whovian111Sunday, February 7, 2016 at 10:31 am55 stars
                  A great and funny book about a boy who doesn't fit in and I think at some point in this story we can all relate. Also the ending is very nice.
                  • zuberdoge
                    zuberdogeTuesday, November 24, 2015 at 7:52 am55 stars
                    Its a fantastic book.
                    • SadfaceFriday, November 6, 2015 at 6:36 am
                      Book about me :(