Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 9 - 12Zn/an/a
Comprising three oversized hardback volumes housed in a full-colour slipcase, this edition of Tolkien's classic masterpiece is fully illustrated in watercolour throughout by the acclaimed and award-winning artist, Alan Lee. Since it was first published in 1954, The Lord of the Rings has been a book people have treasured. Steeped in unrivalled magic and otherworldliness, its sweeping fantasy has touched the hearts of young and old alike. Well over 100 million copies of its many editions have been sold around the world, and occasional collectors' editions become prized and valuable items of publishing. With the epic trilogy now being released on film, images of the characters and landscapes have become eagerly sought after. Much of the look of the movies is based on Alan Lee's paintings, giving this Centenary edition of Tolkien's great work new relevance for the ever-growing number of fans.
Paperback, 440 pages
Published on July 7, 2016 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1535116552
ISBN-13: 9781535116558
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ranger51
    ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 11:23 am55 stars
    I read this when I was 7 HAHA! Now I look at the reading level and wonder why I thought it had too many details for me.... ONE OF MY FAVORITES OF ALL TIME, ANYWAYS!!! Love it. Recommend it.
    • ranger51
      ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 9:00 am55 starsFeatured
      J.R.R Tolkien, tied with John Flanagan for my favorite author, writes a magnificent piece in 'The Lord of the Rings'. It is so incredible it has become a classic that any middle schooler must read. I read this book when I was 7 years old and it has still held 2nd Place, now as an 8th Grader. I would recommend this series to ANYONE who likes adventure, action, fantasy, magic, powers, elves, dragons, war, violence, mystery, suspense, and so much more!! His novels are just packed with excitement and everyone should read them!! :) I have to say, he seriously must have done a lot of planning before he started writing for this series, because he seems to know the favorite colors of Bilbo Baggin's GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT Uncle's grandparents. (By means to say, he writes in a lot of detail that I sometimes get bored over and wish he would get to the main point, but it just adds to how AMAZING this trilogy is!!) I could research my whole life and not know everything about the Lord of the Rings because man... he knows every little detail about his world and other world's he created!! Definitely, read this series... and... GO LEGOLAS!!
      • yusuf12
        yusuf12Saturday, November 1, 2014 at 11:33 am44 stars
        this book was amazing i can read this over and over again if i wanted to...this had to be one of the best books ever
        • snowbell
          snowbellThursday, January 23, 2014 at 11:44 am
          yeah I think what rosie565 is thinking
          • rosie565
            rosie565Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at 12:00 pm
            i think this book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • hello_summer
              hello_summerMonday, January 13, 2014 at 5:52 pm44 stars
              I really recommend this to anyone who is into science fiction/fantasy. It is really complex and layered. The writing can be a bit difficult so I would say ages 10/11 up (in reading level). So anyways the protagonist is a hobbit (please the hobbit/there and back again the prequel to this series first). His name is Frodo and he is going on a journey to destroy a ring in his possession which has become extremely dangerous. I won't say any more. Happy reading! P.S. there is some slightly scary stuff in it but most sci-fi/fantasy readers are used to it. :)
              • theorodruinfall
                theorodruinfallTuesday, August 20, 2013 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                I LOVE IT I AM A BIGGEST TOLKIEN FAN IN THE UNIVERSE. m currently reading FOTR and I have watched the movies. :) I recommend it so much!
                • fortlex
                  fortlexMonday, April 22, 2013 at 9:16 am55 starsFeatured
                  This is the best book/movie I have ever read and still amazes me to this day. The detail Mr Tolkien put into the stories is amazing, such as making three different languages. The book really helped me understand things such as bravery and evil, and its my favorite story ever. LOVE IT! 5 STARS!
                  • ranger51
                    ranger51Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:29 am55 stars
                    YAS!!!! I know, it really does amaze me, too! The detail is INCREDIBLE!!!
                  • bballo14
                    bballo14Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at 5:01 pm44 stars
                    Great book😄
                    • willis12
                      willis12Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 8:07 am55 stars
                      seems like a pretty cool book. i recommend it. speak of a forest with the name of the shire, rumours, gold rings, and fights against orcs= awesomeness.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      western 1 wrote:

                      great book recomend it to any we...
                      60 WESTERNS: Cowboy Adventures, ...

                      inc1boy
                      inc1boy wrote:

                      This book was the funniest book ...
                      Bird & Squirrel on the Edge!

                      muddpuddle
                      muddpuddle wrote:

                      I really enjoy this book in whic...
                      Around the World in 80 Days

                      bunny_ball
                      bunny_ball wrote:

                      I recommend this book. It is ab...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...