Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 8 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z5.059900
From A to Z, the Penguin Drop Caps series collects 26 unique hardcovers—featuring cover art by Jessica Hische

It all begins with a letter. Fall in love with Penguin Drop Caps, a new series of twenty-six collectible and hardcover editions, each with a type cover showcasing a gorgeously illustrated letter of the alphabet. In a design collaboration between Jessica Hische and Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, the series features unique cover art by Hische, a superstar in the world of type design and illustration, whose work has appeared everywhere from Tiffany & Co. to Wes Anderson's recent film Moonrise Kingdom to Penguin's own bestsellers Committed and Rules of Civility. With exclusive designs that have never before appeared on Hische's hugely popular Daily Drop Cap blog, the Penguin Drop Caps series launches with six perennial favorites to give as elegant gifts, or to showcase on your own shelves.

G is for Golding. At the dawn of the next world war, a plane crashes on an uncharted island, stranding a group of schoolboys. At first, with no adult supervision, their freedom is something to celebrate; this far from civilization the boys can do anything they want. Anything. They attempt to forge their own society, failing, however, in the face of terror, sin and evil. And as order collapses, as strange howls echo in the night, as terror begins its reign, the hope of adventure seems as far from reality as the hope of being rescued. Labeled a parable, an allegory, a myth, a morality tale, a parody, a political treatise, even a vision of the apocalypse, Lord of the Flies is perhaps our most memorable tale about “the end of innocence, the darkness of man’s heart.”
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Penguin Books
ISBN-10: 0143124293
ISBN-13: 9780143124290
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ridedavu-157615959605
    ridedavu-157615959605Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 7:17 am44 stars
    To me, this was a dark but really good book. This is a book that started Stephen King off, literally. It kept me on my toes the whole time, wondering what would happen to Ralph, Piggy, and Jack. Golding did a good job keeping me wanting to turn the page,
    • kpopreader
      kpopreaderThursday, May 16, 2019 at 11:59 am55 stars
      To tell you the truth, I'm not much of a reader. However, this book came to my interest. It will have a few spoilers, so you've been warned. I found it interesting that a group of young boys has crash landed on this stranded island and try so hard to survive. It begins with the main characters Ralph and Piggy, which are my favorite character, who leads the group of boys and calls them by blowing into a conch shell. In my opinion, Ralph is a great leader, he set fair rules and gives roles for every boy so they can survive on this island. However, among them is Jack who is very aggressive and starts dividing the group of boys, rebelling and running wild. Now, this brings low chances to survive for both Ralph and Piggy and sadly it doesn't really end well. But I recommend reading this book or if you prefer watching old movies or visuals check it out.
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:11 pm55 stars
        Lord of the Flies is one of the most disturbing books I've ever read. It was required high school reading and since then, I've read it four more times. It is as disturbing now as it was then. Using a group of innocent schoolboys stranded on an island, the author very realistically portrays human behavior in an environment where civilization no longer has meaning.
        • ranger51
          ranger51Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:26 am55 stars
          I cried. It's brilliant. I can't write anything more right now because I just finished it about 30 seconds ago and I'm still emotional. INCREDIBLE. Go Simon!
          • tobthi1617
            tobthi1617Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 8:12 am55 stars
            Have you ever thought that being without your parents would be amazing, that the freedom could and would be everything that you’ve ever wanted? Have you then thought how long it would take for things to get out of hand? For that freedom turn to chaos, and for that chaos to turn to danger. The Lord of The Flies is a book about a group of schoolboys around the 1950’s who have never met each other getting stranded on a desolate island and being forced to survive under the conditions that are given by nature. Things are great in the beginning as the freedom is something to celebrate about, but as the children start to crown a boy named Ralph chief with Piggy (which is a nickname given by the other boys due to his weight) being his right hand man. With a chief and rules and the decision to make a fire for rescue, the boys begin to grow tired. Most of the boys start to become savages, with their only desire getting meat from the pigs around the island. With Piggy and many others gone from the original clan, that leaves Ralph of the original tribe a target. I believe the protagonist in this story is Ralph, the chief of the original tribe, because he is the one with good intentions, those intentions being rescue and everyone being safe. The antagonist in this story is what i believe to be Jack because he is bent on killing Ralph and is the chief of the savage tribe. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to get through some more boring leading up writing to get to the action. WARNING- I do not believe that this is appropriate for anyone below the middle school level because it does deal with a good amount of blood and there are occasional homicides.
            • orikwo1617
              orikwo1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:45 am
              I like this review, this shows the summary and what the book stands for, good job
              • alexhod1617
                alexhod1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:45 am
                I like how detailed and well written your review is
                • isaac2169
                  isaac2169Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:44 am
                  this was well written
                  • jacpay
                    jacpayThursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:15 am
                    good job
                  • redheadperson22
                    redheadperson22Friday, March 20, 2015 at 3:12 pm
                    I've started this book and I have a feeling it's going to end up being very disturbing...