Loki's Wolves (Blackwell Pages)

Book 1 of 3 in the Blackwell Pages Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.472492
"The runes have spoken. We have our champion...Matthew Thorsen."

Matt hears the words, but he can't believe them. He's Thor's representative? Destined to fight trolls, monstrous wolves and giant serpents...or the world ends? He's only thirteen.

While Matt knew he was a modern-day descendent of Thor, he's always lived a normal kid's life. In fact, most people in the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt's classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke. No big deal.

But now Ragnarok is coming, and it's up to the champions to fight in the place of the long-dead gods. Matt, Laurie, and Fen's lives will never be the same as they race to put together an unstoppable team, find Thor's hammer and shield, and prevent the end of the world.

In their middle grade debut, K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr begin the epic Blackwell Pages series with this action-packed adventure, filled with larger-than-life legends, gripping battles, and an engaging cast of characters who bring the myths to life.

Hardcover, 358 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031620496X
ISBN-13: 9780316204965
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nightwolf2212Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 8:09 am
    dont spiol the bokk
    • benc21
      benc21Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:14 am55 stars
      This book happened in the age of vikings where a event called Ragnarok "The end of the world" happened. A war where the gods must battle trolls, monstrous wolves and giant serpents, it was told that only gods could stop when the gods died a long time ago. Most people in the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, were direct descendants of the Norse Gods Thor and Loki. Matt was a Thorsen, being descendant of Thor is a not only a matter of pride but as it turns out, a matter of responsibility. Matt was chosen and now have to stand in for Thor. I really like this book because it was pretty similiar to Percy Jackson a Greek Mythology Series, except that this book is about the Norse Mythology.
      • penguin313
        penguin313Sunday, August 30, 2015 at 1:34 pm55 stars
        A good mythology book. It tells the story of Matt Thorsen, descendant of the Norse God Thor, Fen and Laurie, descendants of Loki, as they team up to stop the end of the world.
        • sydstar
          sydstarThursday, June 25, 2015 at 4:53 am55 stars
          Thanks to DOGO books for providing this book in exchange for a honest review. Loki's Wolves by K. L. ARMSTRONG and M. A. MARR is a book about three kids trying to stop the end of the world. What I liked: I liked this book because it's about Norse mythology and I like Norse mythology. I thought it was interesting and I look forward to reading the next book. Baldwin was my favorite character because he's so happy all the time. I was disappointed about what happened to Baldwin. But the characters were likable and I'll be thinking about this book for a while. I also liked the illustrations in this book because I've never seen a book this thick with pictures! What I didn't like: The ending feels like the author wrote one big book then split it into three. Besides that it was a great book and you should really read it.
          • jess1018
            jess1018Tuesday, June 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm
            What really spiked my interest for this book was the aspect that the characters are descendents of mythical Gods: Loki and Thor. matthew Thorsen has some big shoes to fill, with his father being sheriff, and he finally gets his chance he is chosen as champion, to represent Thor himself. Loki's wolves is an adventurous tale that really reminded me of Rick Riorden's "The Kane Kronicles" and the "Percy Jackson" series. It was really great to read about normal kids who are called to fullfill destiny and fight. I really do reccomend this book to fantasy lovers.
            • peakreader
              peakreaderSunday, June 21, 2015 at 9:14 pm55 starsFeatured
              I REALLY loved this book! It was exciting and adventurous. My favorite character was Fen because he could transform into a wolf. He was a descendent of Loki, my favorite mythological god. This book was similar to Percy Jackson, one of my favorite series. So let’s get to the story. The runes have spoken, Mathew Thorson was chosen at only thirteen to fight Ragnock a giant serpent that will swallow the sun and moon and cast the world in to an icy abyss. First he has to collect other descendants to help him fight Ragnock. Read the book to find out more. It is amazing!!!
              • sweetpicks
                sweetpicksMonday, June 15, 2015 at 2:27 pm55 starsFeatured
                Loki's wolves is a great story, that is kinda like Percy Jackson, mixed with aspects of fun and family. Matt Thorsen is a sheriff's kid, which is very hard reputation to follow. People expect you to be this model citizen, but how can you do that when you are thirteen. Well after a meeting of the elders, Matt finds out that he is the chosen one, the one that is meant to defeat, The Midguard Serpent. Tasked with finding the other children of the North, Matt must team up with Loki's descendants, Fen and Laurie, Brekke. They are now working together to find the children of the North, before Ragnorak destroys the world.
                • ocelot
                  ocelotSaturday, June 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm44 stars
                  This book features Matthew Thorsen (A Descendant of the Norse God, Thor), Laurie Brekke (A Descendant of the Norse God, Loki), and Laurie's cousin, Fen Brekke. Fen and Laurie are both tricksters, but Fen is more of a trickster than Laurie is. Laurie doesn't know this, but Fen is a wolf. Part of the time, anyway. In the beginning of the story, Fen and Laurie try to steal something off of a viking boat. Matt's father is the sheriff of the town, and it isn't hard for him to catch Fen or Laurie. But, the main part of this story is when 3 kids come together to try to prevent the world from ending, by fighting off many different kinds of monsters and dangerous animals. It is really interesting, and I liked the plot a lot. I definitely recommend this book to Norse Mythology-lovers. This book is a really good book for Percy Jackson fans as well. Thanks to DOGObooks for a free copy in exchange for a review!
                  • kimby
                    kimbyWednesday, April 1, 2015 at 11:31 pm44 starsFeatured
                    I really enjoyed this book. It's based on the Asgardians, like Thor and Loki. The basic idea if the book is that the world is going to end and only the gods can prevent this, but since they are dead, the descendants of the Asgardian gods are going to have to fill in and save the world. Characters will have to work with others they don't always want to and face challenges but internal and external. This book is really fun and interesting. I recommend it to readers that enjoy mythology, action and adventure, and fantasy.
                    • i hate it Friday, July 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm
                      why did you have to make it so long and come on giants and trolls put some dragens or at least a giant snake. To me this book sucks and come on tell me why do you even put this stuiped cover on it. I think it looks way better with out to me how ever soled this book is never becoming big!!!!!ever