Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.5139047
Dark schemes unfold—and Sophie’s loyalty is pushed to the limit—in this thrilling fifth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is back in the Lost Cities—but the Lost Cities have changed. The threat of war hangs heavy over her glittering world, and the Neverseen are wreaking havoc.

The lines between friend and enemy have blurred, and Sophie is unsure whom to trust. But when she’s warned that the people she loves most will be the next victims, she knows she has to act.

A mysterious symbol could be the key—if only she knew how to translate it. Every new clue seems to lead deeper into her world’s underbelly and the Black Swan aren’t the only ones who have plans. The Neverseen have their own Initiative, and if Sophie doesn’t stop it, they might finally have the ultimate means to control her.
Hardcover, 688 pages
Published on November 1, 2016 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481474952
ISBN-13: 9781481474955
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscFriday, May 29, 2020 at 9:26 am55 stars
    I liked this book. Sophie is back in the lost cities. But the lost cities have changed. The neverseen is making trouble, and Keefe's with them. But then she's warned that someone she loves will be hurt. There is a mysterious new symbol that could unlock new secrets. Sophie Foster is not an ordinary girl. I give this book 5 stars.
    • toodorky
      toodorkySunday, May 17, 2020 at 2:07 pm55 stars
      I loved this book like the rest of them. This time, Sophie doesn't know who to trust. One of her friends ran off to join the Neverseen, the bad guys. Sophie also knows that some people she loves are in danger because of them, so she has to protect them. Sophie knows that one clue is the symbol for Lodestar. The Neverseen have a plan to make Sophie in their control, and Sophie needs to act fast before everything she loves is put in danger. This book will blow your mind, though one part is unsettling. I loved this book!
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderSunday, May 10, 2020 at 8:35 am55 stars
        This is the 5th book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, and I loved it! This book picks up where Neverseen ended. Keefe has just joined the Neverseen and betrayed his friends. Now nobody knows who to trust. The Neverseen doesn't tell Keefe all of their secrets, and that makes it impossible to get one step ahead of them. These characters face tough choices and terrible losses, and they also have to protect Sophie's adoptive parents, at least that's what they think. It seems the Neverseen is always one step ahead, and Keefe might just ruin everything... I loved this book and think anybody can read it.
        • jojo424kotlc
          jojo424kotlcSunday, April 12, 2020 at 12:43 pm55 stars
          So, Keefe's in the Neverseen, trust is going down, and things are crazy. Lodestar is an awesome book, full of the adventure anyone would want. And all her special abilities! Sophitz is probably gonna become a thing with the 'But we're Cognates' quote that Fitz keeps saying. Keefe is off, Fitz is troubled, and more which I can't remember because this book is PURE AWESOMENESS. #Sophitz guys! From Lady Gisela, to the Lodstar symbol, to Keefe, to the Neverseen, and I'm pretty sure Gethen's in Lumenaria or whatever that place is called. This is an epic adventure of life and death, and don't get me started.... This book goes on and on about trust and great minds. SPOILER COMING UP: Sophie's abilities are incredible, she's a Telepath, Inclictor, Teleporter, Polygot, and Enhancer! CRAZY. I said spoiler because I was't sure when Sophie manifested as a Enhancer. But anyways. I just changed my mind and now this is my favorite book. Before it was Neverseen, both are equally awesome! #number1shannonmessengerfan
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammFriday, May 31, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
            i loved this book so much that i bought my own copy! loving the cognate relationship between sophie and fitz (sophitzzzz) but i really miss keefe...
            • glitterclaws
              glitterclawsTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 8:19 am55 stars
              loved it loved it loved it you should read them all. there my fav
              • zaynabTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 7:44 am
                i lovvvee it! i am currrentely almost done this book! cant wait untill book *! GUess which one! 8!
                • kwright3
                  kwright3Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 10:55 am55 stars
                  This is the best book I have ever read! I love it! It is definitely a page turner and is very hooking. I can't wait until the book 7 comes out! If I could rate this book it would have a billion stars!😍😂
                  • bookfangirl2006
                    bookfangirl2006Friday, December 29, 2017 at 12:53 pm55 stars
                    SO GOOD! This book has plot twists, action, adventure, friendship plus romance, so basically, what you would want in a book. Read the whole series! The only book better in the series is Nightfall (book 6). Also, Sophie+Keefe for life!!!!!!!!
                    • midnightluna
                      midnightlunaTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 12:57 pm55 stars
                      This series just keeps getting better! As a sequel to Neverseen, the Elven world is in trouble and it's up to Sophie and her friends to stop the Neverseen from destroying the world, with help for the Black Swan.