A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city, and they aren't exactly friendly. Only young people have the psychic abilities required to see-and eradicate-these supernatural foes. Many different Psychic Detection Agencies have cropped up to handle the dangerous work, and they are in fierce competition for business.

In The Screaming Staircase, the plucky and talented Lucy Carlyle teams up with Anthony Lockwood, the charismatic leader of Lockwood & Co, a small agency that runs independent of any adult supervision. After an assignment leads to both a grisly discovery and a disastrous end, Lucy, Anthony, and their sarcastic colleague, George, are forced to take part in the perilous investigation of Combe Carey Hall, one of the most haunted houses in England. Will Lockwood & Co. survive the Hall's legendary Screaming Staircase and Red Room to see another day?

Readers who enjoyed the action, suspense, and humor in Jonathan Stroud's internationally best-selling Bartimaeus books will be delighted to find the same ingredients, combined with deliciously creepy scares, in his thrilling and chilling Lockwood & Co. series.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on September 17, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423164911
ISBN-13: 9781423164913
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • fishSaturday, March 4, 2017 at 6:41 pm
    It got me into reading scary books. Very, very, very good book. If you haven't read the book......READ IT!!!! Also, read the rest of the books too ;P.
    • penneyMonday, September 26, 2016 at 10:00 am
      omg i want to read this sooooo bad
      • rrwwnn
        rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:38 pm
        This is the first book in the four book Lockwood & Co. series by Johathan Stroud. It is about a girl named Lucy who is a very good young agent that ends up joining the smallest agency in the city. One case doesn't turn out well and to fix it she has to stay in a terrifying haunted house full of ghosts and survive the long night.
        • strawberry1234
          strawberry1234Wednesday, September 21, 2016 at 2:13 pm55 stars
          This is a funny and creepy and crazy book. IT HAS A LOT OF HORROR AND MYSTERY IF THERE IS ANOTHER OOK LIKE THIS I WOULD LOVE TO READ IT
          • iluvhorses2
            iluvhorses2Monday, November 6, 2017 at 4:33 pm
            There is! This is a series!
          • sr05885
            sr05885Friday, September 16, 2016 at 1:56 pm55 stars
            I loved this story.It was super intriguing and it kept me on the tip of my toes.It was a bit scary sometimes but it was great!It had a lot of mystery which I really enjoy in stories!
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitFriday, August 19, 2016 at 8:20 am44 stars
              At first I thought this book was going to be boring because I'm not that interested in made up things, but it was really good. Packed with adventure, thrill, and mystery, this book eventually turns out great.
              • zorba
                zorbaMonday, August 8, 2016 at 11:04 am33 stars
                This is the first book in the four book Lockwood & Co. series by Johathan Stroud. It is about a girl named Lucy who is a very good young agent that ends up joining the smallest agency in the city. One case doesn't turn out well and to fix it she has to stay in a terrifying haunted house full of ghosts and survive the long night.
                • readspeedster
                  readspeedsterFriday, July 15, 2016 at 6:20 am55 stars
                  this book has a mystery, action, and some surprises that might creep you out. Also this book has different kinds of ghost and some of them are bad
                  • jsmyth
                    jsmythSunday, July 3, 2016 at 7:01 pm44 stars
                    I love how it is about ghost hunting and takes place in England. I find it interesting how the ghost hunters are around 10 to 16 year old kids and I also really love how it uses real ghost repellent theories, such as salt, iron, and silver. I like how we see through the main character’s eyes and see what it’s like to ghost hunt, not to mention the main character does make mistakes and is not a perfect person. I find it useful that there is a glossary at the back explaining the types of ghost and what repellent does what. I do not think this is a good book for the easily scared, but it might be a mildly scary book for an RL Stein horror reader. However during the Red Room part, it gets a little bit gory, like blood dripping and all that. I find it more lifelike since they have real life predicaments, such as not getting enough business, being in debt, rivalry with other businesses, and trying to gain client’s trust. I really like how the main characters interact like normal friends and have semi-normal arguments [I can’t really say they have normal arguments, since they are ghost hunters!]. My favorite character is Lockwood, because I love his personality; that is why I love the Skullduggery series, Skullduggery has a similar personality. I am not a romance kind of person, so I am happy to say that there is no romance, well, except for the ghost and the other guy… I think this book is alright for 12 and up readers.
                    • waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255Saturday, July 2, 2016 at 5:06 am33 stars
                      A mystery is great!! I love them, but a ghost tale mystery isn't so great!! If this book was the slightest bit different it would be great!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      livlovesdogs

                      People are not gonna like me but...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      livlovesdogs

                      It was really good especially si...
                      Illuminate: A Gilded Wings Novel...