Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 5 - 12Z6.574294

Furnace Penitentiary: the world's most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth's surface. Convicted of a murder he didn't commit, sentenced to life without parole, "new fish" Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison.

Together with a bunch of inmates―some innocent kids who have been framed, others cold-blooded killers―Alex plans an escape. But as he starts to uncover the truth about Furnace's deeper, darker purpose, Alex's actions grow ever more dangerous, and he must risk everything to expose this nightmare that's hidden from the eyes of the world.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 27, 2009 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374324913
ISBN-13: 9780374324919
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • im-jesus
    im-jesusWednesday, September 11, 2019 at 3:49 pm
    i like it i cant wait to finish it
    • ReedBWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 8:14 am
      I would definitely recommend this book. It has many twists and turns, and there is a lot of suspense. I would say this book is a mystery book, because you don't know if Alex, the main character, will escape the inescapable prison called the Furnace. If you like mystery, I would seriously recommend this book.
      • ReedBWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 8:13 am
        I would definitely recommend this book. It has many twists and turns, and there is a lot of suspense. I would say this book is a mystery book, because you don't know if Alex, the main character, will escape the inescapable prison called the Furnace. If you like mystery, I would seriously recommend this book.
        • booknerd01
          booknerd01Thursday, February 19, 2015 at 10:47 am
          This book is so addicting. I couldn't put it down. It is twisted but still such a good book. I recommend all of my friends to read it.
          • necto5
            necto5Wednesday, December 18, 2013 at 8:38 am
            READ it best book eva!
            • edmodo-hsvdjbx2jx
              edmodo-hsvdjbx2jxWednesday, September 18, 2013 at 11:00 am55 stars
              This book was adventurous and very interesting. It always kept you wondering what would happen next and you couldn't put the book down after picking it up. It was such a thriller and Alex (the main character) was such a smart character. The best thing is you feel like you, you actually know him.
              • k-t
                k-tMonday, January 28, 2013 at 9:15 am55 stars
                This is a very good book, full of action and mystery. Kids under 7 should not read this book. There is some violent themes and language.