Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 7 - 12n/a7.9183833

Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Paperback, 665 pages
Published on December 5, 2003 by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN-10: 0393976149
ISBN-13: 9780393976144
82 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • horseridinggirl
    horseridinggirlThursday, June 25, 2020 at 12:47 pm55 stars
    Little Women shows the fun, drama, and fear that the March sisters went through almost daily. Reading the book, you almost feel like you are experiencing the dramatic events with the family.
    • funtimes123
      funtimes123Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 4:50 am
      I am not done reading this book yet but I have read about half so far. I love books that take place a long time ago and this book does it is about 4 girls and what there life is like. I reccomend this book for someone who likes reading things anout the war and old timey things.
      • fluffykitty10
        fluffykitty10Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 8:03 am55 stars
        I thought this book would be hard to understand and not the most exciting but once I started it I really enjoyed reading it. The characters in particular really added to the book and gave it character.
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaSunday, June 7, 2020 at 2:24 pm55 stars
          I think a lot of kids these days assume that big old classic books are boring and hard to digest, but this books is a stark contrast to that opinion. It is interesting, touching, fun to read, and overall realistic but touching. I loved this book!
          • GryffindorslothSunday, June 7, 2020 at 3:14 am
            Brilliant! I haven't read it all yet, but it really does keep you interested. A great book, one of my favourites.
            • bibliophile13
              bibliophile13Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 12:31 pm55 stars
              This book is probably one of my all time favorites. It is emotive, jocular, sometimes doleful, and kind of addictive. The description is so precise and the characters are so authentic, reading it is almost like watching a movie (Even better if I do say so myself). The story is consistent and doesn't bore you. I would definitely recommend this worthy book to anyone who loves an exciting drama! My only regret is the fact that I can't relive the experience of reading it for the first time with all of the shockers and surprises. But still, exceptional book!
              • girlpower4ever
                girlpower4everWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 10:07 am55 stars
                The novel "Little Women" stars the March sisters, Meg, Beth, Jo, and Amy. They are four sisters who live in a relatively poor home, their father a chaplain in the war and their mother usually at work. Because of this, they are very accustomed to each others' company. Meg is the oldest and very pretty; Jo is second-oldest and quite tomboyish; Beth is shy and the mediator; and Amy, though the youngest, considers herself supremely important and good-looking. The sisters are at different times in their life and often have disputes about their perspective in life. But, despite marriages, fights, broken hearts, occupations, and deaths threatening to catapult them further apart, they will always be the March girls. A wonderful book about the importance of family, Louisa May Alcott captures people's hearts with her writing even hundreds of years after her lifetime.
                • hedgeguin2
                  hedgeguin2Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:53 pm
                  This sounds really good! My friend started to read this book, and I thought the plot line sounded really cool. I hope it’s a great book, and will keep me reading for a long time! :)
                  • warriorsfan11
                    warriorsfan11Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 5:14 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing. I like it, and my favorite girl is Amy. She's artistic, like me. And Meg, and basically all the girls.
                    • applemango
                      applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 10:08 pm
                      This is a inspiring story of a family of girls, the March family. Their father is serving as a chaplain in the army so the girls depend on each other for support. Amy is the youngest, then Beth, Jo, and the oldest sister Meg. They love their mother greatly and take care to each other’s needs. They give their breakfast to a family in need and by that the adventure practically starts, on Christmas. Amy as the youngest is always craving for attention from any of her older sisters, which causes some quarrels with Jo. Beth, she is always sick and everyone loves Beth. Jo the headstrong one, is tomboyish and gets love from Laurie a kind boy next door. Meg, cares too much about her appearance which can sometimes get her into some trouble, for example like slipping on her ankle. These stories describe the love, friendship, and sisterhood of the March family.