Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 7 - 12n/a7.9183833

Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Paperback, 392 pages
Published on April 14, 2016 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1532764316
ISBN-13: 9781532764318
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Aqsa Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:59 am
    i loved this so much that i read it more than 2 times.beside this there is also one book that touch my heart a lot it is Oliver Twist.i will recommend you all to read the both books
    • Qizra..........Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 7:54 am
      I just loved this book.........................................................................................
      • luluhamyo
        luluhamyoSunday, May 6, 2018 at 11:07 am
        I'd love to read this book!
        • GThursday, April 19, 2018 at 3:31 pm
          I just finished this book and I loved it so much. My favorite character was Amy, but that may be because I played her in the stage version. I love it when Amy writes a will. Ha-ha!
          • GWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 9:57 am
            I'm reading this book and so far, I love it. I'm to the point where Amy falls through the ice, and I thought Jo and Marmee's Conversation was very sweet. My favorite character is Amy. If the page number looks threatening, just start anyway. It's so cool. I'd give it ten stars if possible
            • ocean22
              ocean22Monday, January 29, 2018 at 4:02 pm
              This is a very sad classic book.
              • GFriday, January 12, 2018 at 11:37 am
                I LOVE this book sooooo much! I'm waiting to see if I got cast in the musical version today!
                • tori3ghoul
                  tori3ghoulThursday, November 30, 2017 at 10:46 am
                  In this series of classic tales, Little Women is a great story. So far, my favorite part is Christmas morning where the family gives their breakfast to a poor family next door. There's also a part where two sisters get in a huge revenge fight. A great family read!
                  • lemonade11
                    lemonade11Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 6:15 am
                    I read this book in 5th grade and I honestly LOVE it. The author put many describing words to give me a sense that I was one of the sister's good friends. The one part that I don't like in the book is when Beth dies. That is really sad, even though she is a very quiet person in the book. She has a kind heart and loves to help out for charity. I recommend this book to all those who love classics. I rate this 5/5 because of how creative this writer is, and because of how attached I became to the characters.
                    • CuteBunniesTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:28 am
                      So good. My favorite character (I cannot remember what her name was) is the girl who wanted to be in upper class and when got her chance regretted it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      This story is about a fifth grad...
                      Gertie's Leap to Greatness

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty