Four sisters live with their mother, facing Christmas without their father as the American Civil War is underway. The family is settled in a new neighborhood, living in genteel poverty after the father lost their money. Meg and Jo March, the elder sisters, both work outside the home for money to support the family. Meg teaches four children in a nearby family, while Jo aids her grand-aunt March, a wealthy widow whose strength is failing. Beth helps with housework, and Amy attends school. Their nearest neighbor is a wealthy man whose orphaned grandson lives with him. The sisters introduce themselves to the handsome shy boy, Laurie, who is the age of Jo. Meg is the beautiful sister; Jo is the tomboy; Beth is the musician; and Amy is the charming artist with blond curls. Jo is impulsive and quick to anger. One of her challenges in growing up is to control acting out of anger, a challenge that also faced her mother, Marmee. Marmee advises Jo on speaking with forethought. The boy Laurie enjoys his neighbors, joining the family often in play and home theatrics written by Jo. His grandfather, Mr. Laurence, is charmed by Beth, and gives her the piano used by Laurie’s dead sister.

Paperback, 392 pages
Published on April 14, 2016 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1532764316
ISBN-13: 9781532764318
42 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lemonade11
    lemonade11Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 6:15 am
    I read this book in 5th grade and I honestly LOVE it. The author put many describing words to give me a sense that I was one of the sister's good friends. The one part that I don't like in the book is when Beth dies. That is really sad, even though she is a very quiet person in the book. She has a kind heart and loves to help out for charity. I recommend this book to all those who love classics. I rate this 5/5 because of how creative this writer is, and because of how attached I became to the characters.
    • CuteBunniesTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:28 am
      So good. My favorite character (I cannot remember what her name was) is the girl who wanted to be in upper class and when got her chance regretted it.
      • sunriseSunday, August 21, 2016 at 12:25 am
        amazing book
        • jumpforjoy
          jumpforjoyTuesday, May 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm
          This is in my top 3 favorite books. Meg, Louisa, Beth and Amy learn to live with not much money. It is a hilarious and heartwarming story.
          • olliebob
            olliebobTuesday, October 11, 2016 at 8:52 am
            Her name was Josephine, not Louisa. Louisa May Alcott is the author.
          • xxmoonshadowxx
            xxmoonshadowxxSaturday, April 23, 2016 at 12:23 pm44 stars
            800 pages, and very well written. I think this book is for higher grades and best for girls. There is also Little men.
            • egghead44
              egghead44Thursday, December 31, 2015 at 6:36 pm55 stars
              Loved this book! This is book is amazing. The way the author wrote it it feels like you are there! If you liked little house on the prairie you would like this!!
              • egghead44
                egghead44Thursday, December 31, 2015 at 3:32 pm55 stars
                I loved this book this book is filled with wonders and excitement ! My favorite person is Beth because she is so quiet and peacefull!
                • nike1234
                  nike1234Saturday, December 26, 2015 at 7:33 pm55 stars
                  This book was soo good! A true classsic. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves classic novels.
                  • thecatsmeow
                    thecatsmeowTuesday, November 3, 2015 at 1:03 pm55 stars
                    It's a classic. I like classics
                    • LolaMonday, October 5, 2015 at 6:49 am
                      Really good book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...