Based on the real-life adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little House in the Big Woods is the first book in the award-winning Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers. This edition features the classic black-and-white artwork from Garth Williams.

Little House in the Big Woods takes place in 1871 and introduces us to four-year-old Laura, who lives in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. She shares the cabin with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their lovable dog, Jack.

Pioneer life isn’t easy for the Ingalls family, since they must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But they make the best of every tough situation. They celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do their spring planting, bring in the harvest in the fall, and make their first trip into town. And every night, safe and warm in their little house, the sound of Pa’s fiddle lulls Laura and her sisters into sleep.

The nine books in the timeless Little House series tell the story of Laura’s real childhood as an American pioneer, and are cherished by readers of all generations. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier, and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family.

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on February 27, 2014 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405272163
ISBN-13: 9781405272162
16 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • animal_lover549
    animal_lover549Tuesday, July 25, 2017 at 8:57 pm55 stars
    This is such a good book!! It's by one of my favorite authors: Laura Ingalls Wilder writes book when she was a child and adult. This book is really good again. it has lots of adventure also I would like to say thanks to whoever gave me the editors choice
    • lovetolearn
      lovetolearnSunday, July 16, 2017 at 2:18 am55 stars
      Reading the Little House books in third grade had sparked my love for history, reading, and historical fiction books. They're great books, I'd recommend them to anyone!
      • ajg15
        ajg15Monday, July 10, 2017 at 11:39 am55 stars
        I haven't read this book in a little while but it is such a great series. My maw maw (grandma) got it for me on my 7th birthday and I've loved the series ever since! 5/5🌟
        • armcginn
          armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:22 am55 stars
          Very sweet book. I really liked it a lot. A really good story of a family getting together being a family and doing what a pioneer family would have done. Emotional, you can tell when something big is going to happen. Every day life with special twists and sparkle. This is one of my favorite authors!
          • boomer54Tuesday, May 2, 2017 at 7:52 am
            little house is super awsome in the past with the maple like yum
            • olliebob
              olliebobFriday, November 6, 2015 at 6:48 am55 stars
              I love Little House In the Big Woods. I think it has more appeal to 3rd grade-7th grade. Laura lives with her Ma, Pa, and sisters, Mary, and Carrie, in the big woods of Wisconsin. Mary is a well behaved little girl, but Laura always finds herself getting into mischief, from slapping her sister, to tearing the seams on her pocket (on accident), she seems to get into trouble without even trying. She's jealous of Mary, with her long, golden locks, and the favor that she seemed to get from everyone. But, without showing it too much, she seems to be Pa's favorite. I liked how the book explained what they did, like when Pa was making the oven in the tree. My favorite part was during Christmas. I got the chance to actually try a maple cake, molded into the shape of a leaf, and it was very sweet!!! I love this book!
              • legobatman
                legobatmanThursday, May 21, 2015 at 1:19 pm44 stars
                I liked how they had their own house already. I liked that Pa shot game to eat. It was awesome.
                • pink831
                  pink831Friday, February 20, 2015 at 9:18 am44 stars
                  I think this book is a great book to read because it has many things you can learn from the past. And how Laura is a well behaved girl just like her sister Mary. I recommend this a lot.
                  • icecreamy13
                    icecreamy13Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 6:23 am
                    Title : little house in the big woods Type : history I like this book because : history is my game I love pioneers and we're learning about them in school . I recommend this book .
                    • dancer2-1
                      dancer2-1Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 9:25 pm
                      This was an awesome book. May favorite part was when they all came together for Christmas. The family came from all over the Big Woods of Wisconsin to share the time together.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Kenny wrote:

                      i really enjoyed this book
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      stromtrooper75 wrote:

                      Calvin creates a snow goon which...
                      ATTACK OF THE DERANGED MUTANT KI...

                      klbaek26
                      klbaek26 wrote:

                      I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
                      The Secret Garden