Little House in the Big Woods

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6Grades 3 - 10Q5.3n/a

Laura Ingalls's story begins in 1871 in a little log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their trusty dog, Jack.

Pioneer life is sometimes hard, since the family must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But it is also exciting as Laura and her folks celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night they are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa's fiddle sending Laura and her sisters off to sleep.

And so begins Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family. The nine Little House books have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier past and a heartwarming, unforgettable story.

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on February 27, 2014 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405272163
ISBN-13: 9781405272162
13 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • armcginn
    armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:22 am55 stars
    Very sweet book. I really liked it a lot. A really good story of a family getting together being a family and doing what a pioneer family would have done. Emotional, you can tell when something big is going to happen. Every day life with special twists and sparkle. This is one of my favorite authors!
    • boomer54Tuesday, May 2, 2017 at 7:52 am
      little house is super awsome in the past with the maple like yum
      • olliebob
        olliebobFriday, November 6, 2015 at 6:48 am55 stars
        I love Little House In the Big Woods. I think it has more appeal to 3rd grade-7th grade. Laura lives with her Ma, Pa, and sisters, Mary, and Carrie, in the big woods of Wisconsin. Mary is a well behaved little girl, but Laura always finds herself getting into mischief, from slapping her sister, to tearing the seams on her pocket (on accident), she seems to get into trouble without even trying. She's jealous of Mary, with her long, golden locks, and the favor that she seemed to get from everyone. But, without showing it too much, she seems to be Pa's favorite. I liked how the book explained what they did, like when Pa was making the oven in the tree. My favorite part was during Christmas. I got the chance to actually try a maple cake, molded into the shape of a leaf, and it was very sweet!!! I love this book!
        • legobatman
          legobatmanThursday, May 21, 2015 at 1:19 pm44 stars
          I liked how they had their own house already. I liked that Pa shot game to eat. It was awesome.
          • pink831
            pink831Friday, February 20, 2015 at 9:18 am44 stars
            I think this book is a great book to read because it has many things you can learn from the past. And how Laura is a well behaved girl just like her sister Mary. I recommend this a lot.
            • icecreamy13
              icecreamy13Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 6:23 am
              Title : little house in the big woods Type : history I like this book because : history is my game I love pioneers and we're learning about them in school . I recommend this book .
              • dancer2-1
                dancer2-1Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 9:25 pm
                This was an awesome book. May favorite part was when they all came together for Christmas. The family came from all over the Big Woods of Wisconsin to share the time together.
                • angielea
                  angieleaFriday, May 23, 2014 at 11:26 am55 stars
                  I love this book! My favorite!
                  • 246957
                    246957Tuesday, May 6, 2014 at 10:10 am55 stars
                    Want to read a book. This is a book for all ages to read. It has lots of adventure of how pioneers travel with a wagon. They met many interesting things on the way to the west. Read more reading the book .
                    • penny321
                      penny321Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 11:41 am44 stars
                      it was fun to read this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile