Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.7101027
Winner of the 2002 Man Booker Prize for Fiction

Pi Patel is an unusual boy. The son of a zookeeper, he has an encyclopedic knowledge of animal behavior, a fervent love of stories, and practices not only his native Hinduism, but also Christianity and Islam. When Pi is sixteen, his family emigrates from India to North America aboard a Japanese cargo ship, along with their zoo animals bound for new homes.
The ship sinks. Pi finds himself alone in a lifeboat, his only companions a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and Richard Parker, a 450-pound Bengal tiger. Soon the tiger has dispatched all but Pi, whose fear, knowledge, and cunning allow him to coexist with Richard Parker for 227 days lost at sea. When they finally reach the coast of Mexico, Richard Parker flees to the jungle, never to be seen again. The Japanese authorities who interrogate Pi refuse to believe his story and press him to tell them "the truth." After hours of coercion, Pi tells a second story, a story much less fantastical, much more conventional-but is it more true?

Life of Pi is at once a realistic, rousing adventure and a meta-tale of survival that explores the redemptive power of storytelling and the transformative nature of fiction. It's a story, as one character puts it, to make you believe in God.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on June 4, 2002 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN-10: 0151008116
ISBN-13: 9780151008117
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • happypug12
    happypug12Tuesday, April 7, 2015 at 5:41 am33 stars
    Yann Martel has a very deep and graphic way of writing. Children under 11 years of age may not understand this book, but overall, very finely written.
    • athleticamazin
      athleticamazinSunday, March 15, 2015 at 12:46 pm33 stars
      I would recommend the book, Life of Pi, by Yann Martel, because it was an okay book. It was not a very simple read but I did like that the author was able to keep me hooked throughout the whole story. I would recommend this book to people who like religion based books and those who like books with animals in them.
      • frankybaby
        frankybabySaturday, February 7, 2015 at 7:31 am55 stars
        This book is good for people who like adventure. It is a really good book.
        • diamondkid
          diamondkidTuesday, January 20, 2015 at 5:11 pm55 stars
          This book is good for people who like adventure. It is a really good book.
          • turtle beepMonday, January 19, 2015 at 7:54 pm
            ok i have seen the movie but if the book is like the movie I need it can some one tell me how much it is
            • peeps
              peepsMonday, January 19, 2015 at 4:44 am
              the movie is really good
              • s61878Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 7:10 am
                I think this book is a really good book for people who like animals
                • ck3
                  ck3Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 6:43 am
                  I saw the movie but did not read the book.The movie was good.
                  • inventor2004
                    inventor2004Monday, January 12, 2015 at 3:28 pmFeatured
                    The Life of Pi is an amazing story about a young boy named Pi. After a days at sea along with his family, Pi is fascinated by a storm going on outside his ship. Pi walks out to the deck where he realizes that the ship is sinking. As he plunges towards his family, he is horrified by the site of the flooded cabins. This event is a turning point in Pi's life. From then on, he lives his life sadly but with courage as he lives with Richard Parker,a Bengal tiger while being stranded on the ocean.
                    • happypug12
                      happypug12Monday, January 12, 2015 at 12:01 pm33 stars
                      Is this book gory? And what age would you recommend this book too? I just wanted to know before I read this book. Thanks.