Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a6.435230
Determination meets dance in this middle grade adaptation of the New York Times bestselling memoir by the first African-American principal dancer in American Ballet Theatre history, Misty Copeland.

As the first African-American principal dancer at the American Ballet Theatre, Misty Copeland has been breaking down all kinds of barriers in the world of dance. But when she first started dancing—at the late age of thirteen—no one would have guessed the shy, underprivileged girl would one day make history in her field.

Her road to excellence was not easy—a chaotic home life, with several siblings and a single mother, was a stark contrast to the control and comfort she found on stage. And when her home life and incredible dance promise begin to clash, Misty had to learn to stand up for herself and navigate a complex relationship with her mother, while pursuing her ballet dreams.

Life in Motion is a story for all the kids who dare to be different, dream bigger, and want to break stereotypes in whatever they do.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 14, 2018 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481479806
ISBN-13: 9781481479806
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chlooe
    chlooeThursday, May 23, 2019 at 5:02 pm55 starsFeatured
    After reading this autobiography, I truly learned something new. This story teaches me and others that we can do absolutely anything, from being a scuba diver to being a ballerina! In this book, the person that is introduced to us by the author itself is the famous Misty Copeland. Misty Copeland is an African American ballerina who achieved her goal as being the first principal dancer in ABT for years! Although Copeland went through rough times in her life, she still managed to keep up her dreams. In Misty's past, her family was poor, and not much could be done. Misty's mom was constantly switching boyfriends and husbands, Misty didn't even know if she had a home she belonged in. As Misty grew up, she went dancing and learned that ballet was one of her talents. Realizing that she could do almost any position, she continued and got motivated by her dance teacher, Cindy. Misty Copeland discovered that she could do anything, as long as she worked hard for it. I hope you consider to read this book because it INSPIRED me and I think it did to everybody else who's read this book. 5 out of 5.
    • chlooe
      chlooeWednesday, May 15, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 starsFeatured
      After reading this autobiography, I truly learned something new. This story teaches me and others that we can do absolutely anything, from being a scuba diver to being a ballerina! In this book, the person that is introduced to us by the author itself is the famous Misty Copeland. Misty Copeland is an African American ballerina who achieved her goal as being the first principal dancer in ABT for years! Although Copeland went through rough times in her life, she still managed to keep up her dreams. In Misty's past, her family was poor, and not much could be done. Misty's mom was constantly switching boyfriends and husbands, Misty didn't even know if she had a home she belonged in. As Misty grew up, she went dancing and learned that ballet was one of her talents. Realizing that she could do almost any position, she continued and got motivated by her dance teacher, Cindy. Misty Copeland discovered that she could do anything, as long as she worked hard for it. I hope you consider to read this book because it INSPIRED me and I think it did to everybody else who's read this book. 5 out of 5.
      • chlooe
        chlooeMonday, May 13, 2019 at 5:17 pm55 starsFeatured
        After reading this autobiography, I truly learned something new. This story teaches me and others that we can do absolutely anything, from being a scuba diver to being a ballerina! In this book, the person that is introduced to us by the author itself is the famous Misty Copeland. Misty Copeland is an African American ballerina who achieved her goal as being the first principal dancer in ABT for years! Although Copeland went through rough times in her life, she still managed to keep up her dreams. In Misty's past, her family was poor, and not much could be done. Misty's mom was constantly switching boyfriends and husbands, Misty didn't even know if she had a home she belonged in. As Misty grew up, she went dancing and learned that ballet was one of her talents. Realizing that she could do almost any position, she continued and got motivated by her dance teacher, Cindy. Misty Copeland discovered that she could do anything, as long as she worked hard for it. I hope you consider to read this book because it INSPIRED me and I think it did to everybody else who's read this book. 5 out of 5.
        • raindrop07
          raindrop07Monday, April 22, 2019 at 6:01 am55 starsFeatured
          Most people think that Misty Copeland, the dance prodigy, had an amazing life, but no, her life was very hard. As a child, Misty lived in a chaotic house with several other siblings and a single mother who was always scrambling to keep the household running, even with the shortage of money. Surprisingly, Misty only started dancing at age thirteen and no one ever guessed what she would become. But when her life at home and her dance life began to clash, Misty had to find a way to stand up for herself and navigate the complex relationships with her family while trying to pursue her ballet dream! This book is for lovers of dance, and real life stories of where determination helps make dreams come true!
          • chlooe
            chlooeMonday, May 13, 2019 at 5:18 pm55 stars
            Yours is way better than mines :) Fine job!
            • bacon_bitzz
              bacon_bitzzSunday, April 28, 2019 at 3:01 pm55 stars
              Awesome review!!
            • farukywijomuve
              farukywijomuveTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 11:26 am44 stars
              The autobiography that I chose was "Life in motion an unlikely ballerina" written by Misty Copeland with Brandy Colbert, the genre of this autobiography is nonfiction because it's the story of Misty Copeland's life that talks about all the obstacles she had to overcome. Life in motion had 184 pages filled with the story of how Misty Copeland became who she is today. She is a strong, independent women after facing constant hardships through out her whole life. She also found her love of being onstage at a very early age while doing a school talent show. Even after all the hateful comments she got she continued to work as hard as she could toward her dream of becoming the first African American principal dancer. No matter what people state you should always follow your dreams and achieve your goals even if people tell you that you can't. And that, you shouldn't feel like you always have to please someone else whenever you do something. The only person you have to please is yourself. These are the main lessons in this story because Misty overcame both of these problems for example, people told her that couldn't become a principal dancer or she couldn't play certain roles because she was African American. When people said things like this it pushed her to want to achieve these goals more than ever. I would recommend this book to people of all ages because Misty Copeland is a super inspiring role model for everybody, you don't have to be a ballerina for her to be an amazing inspiration. This is because she is such a strong and independent woman. Such as, when she was growing up she was constantly moving around including once moving in with an abusive step father, as well as, her family didn't have much money and they ate whatever they could afford to get out of the vending machine. Finally, one question I would like to ask Misty Copeland is, "Were all the injuries worth becoming a principal dancer?"
              • lidonopelutehy
                lidonopelutehyTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 11:11 am55 stars
                "Life in Motion-an unlikely ballerina" is a non-fiction autobiography by Misty Copeland and Brandy Colbert. The amount of pages cover to cover totals to the amount of 184 pages. The autobiography is mainly about Misty Copeland pursuing her dream of becoming a principal dancer in New York City. It additionally talks about how Misty Copeland faced many hardships as a child. Such as her family constantly moving around the United States, and having several dads because her mother kept re-marrying several men at a time. "Life In Motion is additionally a very encouraging story because Misty's past, and all of her hardships, made a tremendous impact on society. For instance, Misty Copeland started dancing because she took dance classes at the Boy's and Girl's Club. Then as she grew up to be older, she started a branch with the Boy's and Girl's Club, so that people could take dance classes there, just like Misty did. One main lesson to be learned in Misty Copeland's "Life In Motion" is that, no matter how many struggles and hardships you face, you can always pursue your dream. For example Misty Copeland was very traumatized as a child, and she faced many challenges while building her ballet career, but she knew that she was good at her passion, and that was good enough for her. Misty was bullied, and discouraged by her classmates, but she knew that if she was great at what she did, she could make here dream of becoming a principal dancer, become reality. "Life in Motion" also supports that when you fell discouraged, and when you feel like you cannot keep on going, you need to be the bigger person, and block out the negative thoughts. When Misty started ballet at the age of nine, many people, including her family were dragging down her dreams. And they wanted her to live an average teenage life. I would recommend this book to many young dancers because, Misty Copeland is very inspiring, and encouraging, and she can motivate many people who feel discouraged. Additionally, Misty Copeland had a very remarkable affect on people who read her book. Misty Copeland's "Life in Motion" has answers to many of my questions that I have, but if I could ask Misty Copeland one unanswered question, I would ask her, "Was all of the time, the injuries, and the sweat worth pursuing your dream?"
                • divadancer101
                  divadancer101Monday, June 5, 2017 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                  This is one of my favorite books ever! It is about Misty Copeland's life growing up which I found very interesting and exciting. My favorite part was hearing about how she got into the American Ballet Theatre, and how she got better from there. I really recommend this book for people who like dance, or for people who like stories about overcoming something.