Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.795192

I guess I always felt even if the world came to an end, McDonald’s still would be open.

High school sophomore Miranda’s disbelief turns to fear in a split second when an asteroid knocks the moon closer to Earth, like "one marble hits another." The result is catastrophic. How can her family prepare for the future when worldwide tsunamis are wiping out the coasts, earthquakes are rocking the continents, and volcanic ash is blocking out the sun? As August turns dark and wintery in northeastern Pennsylvania, Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother retreat to the unexpected safe haven of their sunroom, where they subsist on stockpiled food and limited water in the warmth of a wood-burning stove.

Told in a year’s worth of journal entries, this heart-pounding story chronicles Miranda’s struggle to hold on to the most important resource of all—hope—in an increasingly desperate and unfamiliar world. An extraordinary series debut!

Susan Beth Pfeffer has written several companion novels to Life As We Knew It, including The Dead and the Gone, This World We Live In, and The Shade of the Moon.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on October 1, 2006 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0152058265
ISBN-13: 9780152058265
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • PersonSaturday, October 12, 2019 at 2:43 pm
    I agree with yesme, this is defenatly a book for older kids, and it can be frightening at times. This is a really inspiring story about family and perserverience. Also it is a very distopian book so if thats your kind or thing like me READ IT!
    • stellaluna
      stellalunaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 3:54 pm55 stars
      I am reading this book currently!! It is pretty good, and I am excited to read more!
      • S.D. Thursday, October 4, 2018 at 9:20 am
        I would give this book a 9-10 rating. This book is good for older kids only because it could possibly be a bit frightening at times if you were younger. I would recommend this book to someone who wants a good family story and a science type of novel.
        • yesmeFriday, July 6, 2018 at 9:43 am
          this book entertains you like a movie and you wanto read more and more to the end.
          • yy2134
            yy2134Friday, December 25, 2015 at 2:14 pm55 stars
            This is a amazing book about how an asteroid crashes into the moon and makes it closer to the earth. This causes all kinds of disasters. You are able to experience this tragic event through journal entries made by a girl called Miranda trying to survive with beloved family.
            • cocollette
              cocolletteWednesday, December 16, 2015 at 10:39 pm55 stars
              This book was amazing. It was a story of courage and survival against all the odds. I would definitely recommend this book to others.
              • cocollette
                cocolletteFriday, May 15, 2015 at 7:07 pm55 stars
                i want to read this book!
                • soccer9
                  soccer9Wednesday, May 21, 2014 at 5:44 pm
                  Life as we knew it and the books I this series are very intense. Their are any twists and turns through out the book. A 14 year old girl, Miranda has a younger brother John and A older brother, Matt. A asteroid hits the moon and throws the world off balance. Miranda and her brothers and mom try to survive the world wide diasters.
                  • kitkat056
                    kitkat056Saturday, September 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm
                    It makes you read more
                    • yobro
                      yobroSaturday, March 24, 2012 at 7:46 am44 stars
                      This is a book that you need to read. this book gave me the chills at first, but is is a wonderful story about a girl named Miranda and one Wednesday, a huge astriod hits the moon and the moon comes closer to earth so the weather and everything is being destroyed! the coasts of America are sunken and lightining gets so close to the ground, the trees start on fire. if you read thid you will never put it down:)