The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of the Newbery Medal book When You Reach Me: a story about spies, games, and friendship. Seventh grader Georges moves into a Brooklyn apartment building and meets Safer, a twelve-year-old self-appointed spy. Georges becomes Safer's first spy recruit. His assignment? Tracking the mysterious Mr. X, who lives in the apartment upstairs. But as Safer becomes more demanding, Georges starts to wonder: what is a lie, and what is a game? How far is too far to go for your only friend? Like the dazzling When You Reach Me, Liar & Spy will keep readers guessing until the end.

Praise for Liar & Spy



• A Junior Library Guild Selection
• A New York Times Bestseller
• An Indie Bestseller
Kirkus Reviews starred review
Publishers Weekly starred review
The Horn Book starred review
School Library Journal starred review
The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books starred review
• Autumn 2012 Kids’ Indie Next List
• Nominated for the Best Fiction for Young Adults 2013
Kirkus Reviews Best of Children’s Books 2012 List
Publishers Weekly Best of Children’s Fiction 2012
School Library Journal Best of Children’s Fiction 2012 List
The Horn Book’s Best of 2012 List
• Barnes & Noble Best Books of 2012 for Kids List
• Amazon’s Best of the Year, Middle Grade (#3)
• A New York Times Book Review Notable Children’s Book of 2012
• Holiday gift guides: Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, LA Times
• NPR Outstanding “Backseat” Reads for Ages 9-14, NPR’s Backseat Book Club
• One of The Atlantic Wire’s 25 favorite middle grade and young adult book covers of 2012
• The Wall Street Journal’s Best Children’s Books of 2012
• The Chicago Public Library Best of the Best 2012
The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books 2012 Blue Ribbons List

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375850872
ISBN-13: 9780375850875
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • JCWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 6:57 am
    This book is so good you have to read it 5 out of 5
    • mybooksandi
      mybooksandiTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 5:50 am
      🎶 Smooth Criminal🎶 Okay, sorry that song was stuck in my head while I was reading this book. For some reason it reminded me of Michael Jackson. Moving on..... Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead was a book that was,... well.... interesting, I guess? It was good, I really liked the characters, the setting and the mood. I finished the book in 24 hrs because of its gripping plot. Anyway, we will start with the... Characters, I really liked them. I liked Georges ( the S is silent) , I loved Candy, and I loved Safer, I guess? The taste test was... interesting. It added a whole new story to the plot. I'm not a huge fan of the HUGE plot twist at the end. And if you know it, the book is ruined for you. That was the only thing that I did not like about the novel. I mean, it was doing fine. Safer and Georges, friends and whatever, that want to find out more about this suspicious man. Lana: 'Hmm... I've seen this before but please, continue.' They break into his apartment everyday. Lana: *twiddling nervously with her thumbs* ( Did I just make a song references? 2 songs in one review!) (SPOILER) Georges finds out the "Suspicious man" is a fake, and that Safer made the whole thing up just to make sure Georges is a loyal friend. Lana (monster voice)- 'Oh yes I've seen this before!' *Throws book at the wall* So anyway, this book disappointed me BIG TIME. I loved it, I was into it, but, WOW, regret!
      • demosthenes
        demosthenesSunday, December 6, 2015 at 5:15 pm
        I just got this, I wont read it yet because im reading percy Jackson and the one and only ivan...but I cant wait to start.
        • Makenna M. 1Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 9:01 am
          Liar and spy by: Rebecca Stead talked about this girl named Gorges with a silent s but everybody called her gorgeous, anyway, she meats this boy named Safer and they have a spy club together. They say there is this evil guy named Mr.X who they do mysteries on. I love this book and I think if you like adventure you'd like it too. Recommended ages 7- all the above.
          • axgordonFriday, January 16, 2015 at 9:58 am
            I loved this book!!!!! Rebecca Stead is an awesome author. I would totally recommend this book to kids of all ages, even middle school, even though the reading level is around 3rd-5th grade :)
            • caterpietheking
              caterpiethekingThursday, June 5, 2014 at 5:42 pm
              Loved it. One of my favorite books I read in 4th grade.
              • timmyturnip
                timmyturnipTuesday, June 3, 2014 at 9:40 am55 stars
                I loved this book. There is a playful and sudden twist to it and is very interesting and catchy. It is hard to not continue reading once you start. It is a great book!
                • jr2300
                  jr2300Friday, April 11, 2014 at 5:38 pm
                  it looks like a amazing book
                  • cherry2002
                    cherry2002Wednesday, January 15, 2014 at 2:52 pm
                    I thought this book so amazing everybody should read this. It definitely kept me hooked
                    • hello_summer
                      hello_summerMonday, January 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm
                      It was good but not nearly as good as When You Reach Me

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...