Leviathan (Thorndike Literacy Bridge Young Adult)

Book 1 of 3 in the Leviathan Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.377962

All the European powers are arming up for World War I. The Austro-Hungarians and Germans have their Clankers, steam-driven iron machines loaded with guns and ammunition. The British Darwinists employ fabricated animals as their weaponry. Their Leviathan is a whale airship, and the most masterful beast in the British fleet. Aleksandar Ferdinand is an Austro-Hungarian prince on the run. Deryn Sharp is a commoner. Their paths cross in the most unexpected way.

Paperback, 464 pages
Published on August 10, 2010 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1416971742
ISBN-13: 9781416971740
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • Leviathan8.1FanWednesday, February 8, 2017 at 4:37 am
    Leviathan was AWESOME! I enjoy books set back in history, and I like how it warps it. The author, in the back of the book, called it steampunk - a genre of science fiction that has a historical setting and typically features steam-powered machinery rather than advanced technology. I'm still reading the last book in the series - Goliath - but throughout the Trilogy, the author really lets you fall in love with the main characters. If anybody likes steampunk genre, or maybe just a secret love story, then I'd highly recommend this book!
    • elliotl20
      elliotl20Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 5:16 am55 stars
      This is a really different kind of book. It is part of a trilogy. This is the first book in it. It explores a new dimension, another way history could have played out. This is set in the time of the first world war however, this time, the countries don't use guns and bayonets. Some have mutated animals that they use or others make huge and complicated machines to fight. I really liked the book, I think that it's really cool because it uses the real history and twists it so there is the timeline but everything is different and changed.
      • fosters
        fostersTuesday, May 26, 2015 at 3:22 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing!It is action packed and creative.The insults they use are pretty funny.I highly recommend this to you.
        • booknerd01
          booknerd01Wednesday, March 18, 2015 at 6:19 am55 stars
          Loved the way the story was told and the time setting.
          • aidanlow
            aidanlowMonday, March 17, 2014 at 10:19 am55 stars
            Great book. The plot is there is a war between the Clankers and the Darwinists. Awesome book I recommend it!
            • wollnedm
              wollnedmMonday, February 10, 2014 at 9:38 am55 stars
              This is one of the best books I have ever read! At first, when i read the back, I thought it sounded silly and horrible! But it turned out to be 100% AWESOME! I totally recommend it!
              • zebralove
                zebraloveSaturday, October 12, 2013 at 2:08 pm44 stars
                This book, while it may have an agreeable plot, totally leaves you torn. first there are the darwinists, people of England, and France, who fabricate animals for their use. Then there are the Clankers, people who seem to worship machines. An Austrian Prince (Clanker) and an english las, in the air service, meet in the most unlikely of circumstances. Now they work to save their own lives, and the darwinist beasts lives. Can they survive the war? Can they find the magic in each others kingdoms? Read on to find out.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                kenmen
                kenmen wrote:

                I thought this book was amazing!...
                Smile

                inh8
                inh8 wrote:

                Best. Series. Ever.
                The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...

                inh8
                inh8 wrote:

                Ouch! hillarious!!!! great, in ...
                Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)