Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that’s perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw!

Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can’t possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California—the Bigfoot Capital of the World—where she’s forced to live with a grandfather she’s never met after her mother passes away.

Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, they set out on an epic adventure to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film. But along the way, Lem and Tobin end up discovering more than they ever could have imagined. And Lem realizes that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all.

"I love books about feisty girls and nerdy boys. Melissa Savage's astoundingly good debut novel is packed with humor, mystery, friendship, family secrets, and even Bigfoot! I think you'll love it, too." —Karen Cushman, Newbery Medalist for The Midwife's Apprentice

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 15, 2018 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 1524700150
ISBN-13: 9781524700157
47 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hanpink800
    hanpink800Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 10:46 am55 stars
    A book about bigfoot i'm in. I read 5 chapters and I got pulled right away when I got to chapter ten I put it down for five minutes and picked right back up great book.
    • ajg15
      ajg15Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 9:58 am44 stars
      10 year old Lemonade Liberty With has to move to Willow Creek, California (the Bigfoot capital of the world) to live with her grandfather Charlie after her mother passed away. Lem (lemonade) wants to stay in San Francisco with her friends and school and everything else she cares for. Soon after gets there she meets Tobin (11) - the president of Bigfoot detectives inc., He invited Lem to be his assistant Bigfoot detective and she excepts, they set out on an adventure to finally discover Bigfoot.....they end up discovering something or ....someone..... Absolutely unexpected. I think this was a great book, it was one I was really looking forward to reading & I'd read it again. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • pizzagirl7
        pizzagirl7Friday, August 10, 2018 at 11:42 am22 stars
        Lemons so I first want to say I didn't really enjoy this book like I thought I would!it wasn't horrible but not great 👐I recommend this book to 8 to 10 year olds and I rate this book 2 stars 😃 😃 😃 😃so this book is about lemonade liberty witt's ok so she moves from her house in San Francisco which she really liked and now at her new house there's trees instead of skyscrapers she really doesn't like her new house but she meets 11 year old tobin sky who is a Bigfoot detective! Do they find bigfoot??? Well I guess you have to figure that out👍💜! Thank you so so so! Much for reading -pizzagirl7 😘 💙 💚 💛
        • readwriter
          readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 3:06 pm22 stars
          This book was ok. It was hard to get into wasn't very interesting. If you like Bigfoot, this is a good book for you. But I found it kind of boring.
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:56 pm55 stars
            I have tried searching for Bigfoot before in the woods, so I was really invested in this book. I thought it was really funny, and really sweet. I like the uncovering of family secrets, too. The characters were really well written.
            • happy_cat
              happy_catWednesday, July 25, 2018 at 7:38 pm44 stars
              Lemonade (yes, that’s her name!) moved to California, living with the Grandfather she never met. There, she meets a nerdy - but awesome - boy named Toby, the owner of the Bigfoot Co. This book is a great book created by author Mellisa Savage, who is a new author that I haven’t heard of. But I really love her writing style, and her name choices (Lemonade is an AWESOME name!)
              • llpanda
                llpandaTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:18 pm44 stars
                Lemonade Liberty Witt is having a hard time making lemonade out of this situation. It isn't enough that life has given her the hard lemon of her mother dying, Lemonade also has to go live with her grandfather that she didn't know existed. To top all that off he lives in the Bigfoot capital of the world. Yes siree making lemonade out of this one is going to be hard. This book almost reminded me of Pollyana except in reverse. While Pollyana easily finds a way to find the happiness in everything, Lemonade has to struggle to live up to the name that her vivacious zesty mother gave her. I think that this book is a more accurate picture of when life gives you lemons make lemonade.
                • armcginn
                  armcginnMonday, July 23, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
                  When her mother dies and the father she has never met is nowhere to be found Lemonade Liberty Witt is sent to Willow Creek Bigfoot capital of the world where her grandfather (who she never met) runs a shop called Bigfoot souvenirs and more! then turns Willow Creek upside down!
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 9:21 am44 stars
                    Lemonade (Lem) meets Tobin when she moves to her grandfather's house after her mother died. Tobin lets Lem join his Bigfoot Detectives Inc., and they set out together to find Bigfoot. This is a fun and interesting book.
                    • bookwormilg
                      bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:58 am
                      I am SO excited to read this book! I read the summary and reviews and it seems like a great summer read! As soon as I order a copy, or get one from my public library, I am going to dive in! Seems SO fun, and enjoyable!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      Yes, fairy tale twists are amazing!
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1)

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love this book is about a supe...
                      Supergifted

                      meeeee wrote:

                      I'm in sixth grade and i loved t...
                      Superfudge (Fudge)

                      Our Apps and Plugins