Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.740315
A thrilling mystery set against a stark landscape and the inspiration of Nome's real-life dog hero, Balto.

Twelve-year-old Tee has just moved to Nome, Alaska, with her writer father and sullen little brother, Jack. Jack isn't happy about the idea of living in the middle of nowhere, but Tee and her dog Henry are thrilled -- so much open space to run around and sniff!

But on a walk near their new house, Henry spots something that has him seriously spooked. Tee sees a mysterious shadow, and it seems to be following them. Have they disturbed a restless spirit? And what other secrets might this dark place be holding?
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on November 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054539127X
ISBN-13: 9780545391276
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Dank MemesTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 4:57 pm
    I think this book was OK. A little under my level but the plot of the story was good.
    • #sandu10Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 5:36 pm
      This book is great! The author should make a second book of it. I recommended this book to all of my friends. They all read it and said that it was a good book.
      • wpmoon
        wpmoonSaturday, September 5, 2015 at 1:08 pm55 stars
        anybody who has the book shall read it emediatly because it is the best book of all time.there are fourteen chapters to the book which makes it not to long not to short.its my personal favorite book of all time.
        • fancy1
          fancy1Saturday, January 3, 2015 at 11:54 am
          This book looks like a mystery. I am always up for a mystery. I love scary stuff.
          • plin
            plinThursday, December 18, 2014 at 3:57 pm44 starsFeatured
            The author of this book is Elizabeth Cody Kimmel, she mostly write about scary stories, with story that have dogs in it, and girl stories. The different between Kimmel work and other authors works, is that the book is about a ghost dog and other author might write about something different. Tee (everybody in her family and friend call her Tee, that is her nickname, plus her real name is Anita) and Dodie narrate the whole story about the book. Dodie narrated his years ago (flash back, which is italic) story. Tee narrate the present day in the story of this book. The setting take place at Nome, Alaska, in the summer. The genre of this book is mystery, kinda realistic fiction, and maybe a tiny fantasy. The theme (lesson) in the story is trust other people, like your friend and other people that you know. maybe another theme ( lesson) in the story is don't hurry ( take your time, don't rush ) and know what is best for you. I like this book because it is very interesting and exciting, if you read it at night and think about ghost haunting you it, it will make it scary (that is what I feel). What I don't like about this book is that, it is kinda boring at some parts in the story and there is not much characters in the book. I would read more book about the author books because what I really like about this book. I will encourage other people to read this book because they might learn something and might like this book.
            • spantoja1
              spantoja1Tuesday, November 25, 2014 at 7:42 am55 stars
              I barely started reading it but so far great
              • 00016697
                00016697Friday, December 19, 2014 at 5:43 am
                Sounds cool!
              • happyface221
                happyface221Tuesday, June 17, 2014 at 7:17 pm
                i really want to read this book!!!!
                • AllySaturday, November 2, 2013 at 6:34 am
                  I think it was a GREAT book!!!! It was AWESOME and COOL!!!
                  • slappy194
                    slappy194Tuesday, March 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm55 stars
                    This was a good book filled with mystery and ending that you could not wait to hear the book again.