Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.975943
To twelve-year-old Bailey Walker, kin means more than just family. It means being a part of the Animas bond, a harmonious link that connects humans and animals, and guides everything in his world. But Bailey hasn't found his kin yet, and without an Animas, he's destined to be an outsider-or worse, lose his mind entirely. So when he's accepted into the prestigious Fairmount Academy, he's determined to Awaken to his Animas once and for all, even if it's a measly worm.

But once there, Bailey can't resist the pull of the dark mysteries surrounding the kingdom. A bear has been viciously attacked on school grounds, and when he and his friends discover signs of a ferocious predator in the woods surrounding campus, he knows something's out there, something dangerous. And Fairmount isn't the only place where darkness is brewing. In the capital city, a new leader preaches that humans must assert power over their kin, enslave them instead of living as one.

Bailey can't shake the feeling that the root of the unrest, and the key to his Awakening, lies in an old riddle entwined around an even older prophecy-a prophecy that may reveal the truth about the rightful king of Aldermere. And Bailey may be the only one who can unravel them. The capital's dark forces will stop at nothing to prevent the prophecy from coming true. If they succeed, the Animas bond will be in peril. Can Bailey help protect the Animas bond while still trying to awaken to his own? In this first installment of the gripping ANIMAS series, the battle is just beginning.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on October 28, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423180380
ISBN-13: 9781423180388
Fans
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 400bella
    400bellaWednesday, September 28, 2016 at 5:04 pm44 stars
    This book is so good.But it is over my reading level.I hope I can read this book a lot. This book is about well animals
    • rrwwnn
      rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:10 pm
      i really loved this book. i like books about anuimals. usually eagles their my favorite but this one was good too. i wonder if real wolfs actually have to go on quests and lead packs in the wild. we dont have any around here. ive heard their different from dogs but really smart
      • snicker9
        snicker9Sunday, September 18, 2016 at 11:19 am55 starsFeatured
        Twelve Bailey Walker is excited to finally be going to Fairmount Academy. But he is afraid what people when say when they find out he has no kin, no Animas bond and is an Absence. In Bailey's world an Animas is a bond that connects humans to animals. Most people bond's are in the family, but Bailey is adopted, and so he doesn't have a lot to go on. When Bailey goes to school he is determined to awaken his Animas-no matter what it is. Bailey is also very happy when he meets Hal-another student from the Lowlands that has guessed his secret, but doesn't care. But when Bailey and Hal arrive at school, they find mysterious things are going on. Between the bizarre teacher Tremelo, and Taylor Hal's older brother who also happens to be the Scavage captain and trying to keep his secret he doesn't have a lot of time to consider these events. But he knows something dangerous is out in the woods. Could it be some of the rebel's from the city, who are trying to convince the people that people should change the Animus bond, so that they are controlling the kin. The Animus bond is in trouble. Can Bailey save the future of the Animus bond while looking for his kin? Legacy of the Claw was similar to the Spirit Animal series, with close bonds with animals. I am excited to read the next book in this series. Every chapter was hair-raising, and I was always guessing what was going to happen next. I also liked that the book was told in different point of views, so that we knew what was happening in different locations. I recommend this book for middle school and high school grades. I think many fantasy lovers will like this book. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
        • happypug12
          happypug12Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 5:18 am33 starsFeatured
          Legacy of the Claw was a great start to the first book of the Animas series. For the most part, it's interesting; but I found it lacking the pulse-pounding excitement that I was expecting. Sure, learning about this new world with each human being tied to a kin was definitely interesting, but it all seemed a little predictable and mild for my taste. We have Bailey, the farm boy, who hasn't awakened his kin yet, predictably feeling left out and predictably becoming an easy target for bullies. I would have liked more mystery and intrigue, as you can instantly tell who's gonna be good and who's gonna be evil. Not to say that a 10 year old wouldn't enjoy this book, but that was just my opinion. If you liked the Spirit Animals series, check this one out; they're really similar. Suggested age group: ages 11 and under.
          • coreycole
            coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:38 am55 stars
            i really loved this book. i like books about anuimals. usually eagles their my favorite but this one was good too. i wonder if real wolfs actually have to go on quests and lead packs in the wild. we dont have any around here. ive heard their different from dogs but really smart
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitThursday, August 25, 2016 at 2:50 pm33 stars
              Legacy of the Claw is intriguing, but only engaging for people who are interested in books with mysteries and animals combined. Overall, it wasn't boring.
              • strawberry1234
                strawberry1234Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 3:04 pm55 stars
                I really liked this book everyone should read this book. I really enjoyed this book. Hope everyone thinks the same. Read this book. : { )
                • mayhem
                  mayhemTuesday, August 9, 2016 at 12:10 am55 stars
                  really good book. i love every single bit of it. i rate this book 5/5 stars. rated for eveyone. noone should not like this book.
                  • waterlily1255
                    waterlily1255Thursday, July 7, 2016 at 7:17 am44 stars
                    I recommend this book for animal lovers and seekers of mysteries. Also for people who love when animals have human traits. This book is great just not 100% for me.
                    • inventor60
                      inventor60Monday, July 4, 2016 at 6:05 am
                      Bailey knows that with his kin he'd have the Animas bond. But without the a kin he wouldn't get the bond. After being accepted in the Fairmount Academy he starts to feel weird. There is something out there.....