Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
n/aGrade 7n/a6.1200493
Illusions shatter—and Sophie and her friends face impossible choices—in this astonishing eighth book in the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster wants answers. But after a lifetime of lies, sometimes the truth is the most dangerous discovery. Even the smallest secret comes with terrifying new responsibilities.

And Sophie’s not the only one with blank spots in her past, or mysteries surrounding her family. She and her friends are part of something much bigger than they imagined—and their roles have already been chosen for them.

Every clue drags them deeper into the conspiracy. Every memory forces them to question everything—especially one another. And the harder they fight, the more the lines blur between friend and enemy.
Hardcover, 816 pages
Published on November 5, 2019 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1534427333
ISBN-13: 9781534427334
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • countrytime2020
    countrytime2020Friday, November 20, 2020 at 11:10 am
    GO SOKEEFE!! I can smell it coming! Legacy was great! Unlocked was amazing! Shannon Messenger did a great job resolving the Fitz feelings and making Sophie rely more on Keefe. I respect the Sophitz view, but Fitz yells at Sophie way too much for them to get together. Keefe understands and is with her to the end, even under hard circumstances! This book was great!
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Saturday, November 14, 2020 at 11:15 am55 starsFeatured
      I love this book!! I gotta admit, I was NOT impressed that Sophie and Fitz drifted away from their romantic relationship at the end, but Shannon Messenger did such a good job writing this that I found myself blaming Sophie & Fitz, not her!!! This was a truly incredible book. It went the same as the others in the series, in the sense that all that happened was planning sneak attacks on the Neverseen, the Neverseen getting away, Sophie blaming herself, planning another sneak attack, etc. But honestly, that doesn't make me like the book less. The characters are introduced so well that I really felt like I was in the book (I know, everyone says that, but honestly this series was one of the only ones that I ACTUALLY felt like that) and the way that Sophie & Fitz interact, the way we all know Keefe looks at Sophie, and even Dex and Biana (yes, I caught that!! Love it!!) seems almost like a stereotypical teenage life, except it's not. I can't explain it, but it is so unique and heartwarming that I could not put the book down. I feel bad for her, but I don't blame Sophie for not keeping up with Fitz. She has SO MANY other things going on, but they are a good couple because even though Sophie feels bad about it, Fitz understands. He is there for her as much as possible, whether it's for a shoulder to lean on or somebody to yell at. I am pretty bummed that she was unmatchable, and that Fitz doesn't understand why she won't continue the search for he biological dad. It's also pretty upsetting that she told Keefe first, and not her boyfriend... especially knowing that Keefe had way more going on with his parents and the Neverseen than Fitz did and she still chose to lean on him when she found out. I am so excited to see what book 8.5 will bring!! It's coming out next week!!! I'll be cheering for Fitzphie no matter what happens!!!
      • ggggThursday, September 17, 2020 at 10:38 am
        This is good book
        • little_demon727
          little_demon727Tuesday, August 25, 2020 at 8:06 pm33 stars
          Yes, I know a lot of people love this book but KOTLC seems like the circle of this: gets attacked, heal/deal with trauma/try to get revenge/fail and get tricked(well, sometimes not but never a success). Sometimes, it looks like a big thing is going to happen and it just turns useless or make the matters more hard (extra infos ). But I would still like to see Keefe develop!
          • 4usa
            4usaSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 4:26 pm55 stars
            This is the eighth book in the greatest series ever! I have multiple theories on Keefe's new ability and Glimmer's identity but as for my opinion on the book, I loved it! I can't wait for the next book to come out and think that it may be the book where SoKeefe actually happens! I would literally recommend this series to anyone!
            • kkgautamm
              kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 12:05 pm44 stars
              honestly, i was pretty upset that sophie was unmatchable, and that she and fitz grew apart. the first time i read the book i was opsedded with shipping them together, but now i can see the chemistry between sophie and keefe and i am beyond conflicted and extremely in denial.
              • lovelightning
                lovelightningSunday, June 14, 2020 at 6:02 pm
                It is so good. I love how Sophie is so passionate even though we all ready saw that in the first books.😋😍
                • bsc
                  bscSunday, May 17, 2020 at 11:05 am55 stars
                  Sophie has so much going on. She is still trying to find her biological parents, and her boyfriend, and her abilities. PLus she wants answers to all the secrets people have kept hidden from her. I loved this book and the cliffhanger. I give it 5 stars.
                  • blossomreader
                    blossomreaderTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 9:46 am55 stars
                    Legacy was an amazing book, but I'm sad at the cliff-hanger! This 8th book in the Keeper series is about, well, Keefe's legacy. His mom, Lady Gisela, has big plans for him, plans that can change Keefe's life, and his friends, forever. Sophie's new goal is to help Keefe avoid his legacy, but that's not the only problem. Sophie, as stated in Flashback, the previous book, is unmatchable, a first in Elvin history. How will she tell her boyfriend Fitz? Well, she doesn't. She talks to Keefe instead, and he agrees with her plan to find her parents on her own, because Mr. Fork;e is being stubborn about not telling her. Things are happening though. The Councillors want Sophie to be on their side, and Sophie doesn't know what to do. At the end of her thinking, she decides to become a Regent in the Nobility, as well as her friend, Biana, Dex, and Wylie. Stina, Sophie's enemy at Foxfire, is the Empath on the team. It would have been Keefe, but he ties too close to the Neverseen, so he can't,and neither can Fitz because they already have one telepath. Sophie renames the team, and she is the leader. Sophie is so into matchmaking and other thongs that she sometimes forgets about her team and even Fitz. These times are challenging for Sophie. There are so many things going on!! Will they be able to keep up their team, find Sophie's biological parents, and save Keefe from his Legacy?
                    • bookexplorer
                      bookexplorerSunday, May 17, 2020 at 2:08 pm
                      Thank you guys for telling me more about this book series! I am going to start reading it sometime soon, and info about it is helpful. I’m glad you guys told me that the series isn’t done yet, and the 8th book is on a cliffhanger. 😀
                    • reader43
                      reader43Monday, May 4, 2020 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                      This series is THE BEST! I would TOTALLY suggest it! It was my favorite one in the series (along with Everblaze). NOTE: READ THE FIRST 7 BEFORE THIS ONE!