Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.925629
Lea Clark is ten years old and ready to explore the whole world, just like her grandmother! But first she'll start with a family trip to Brazil, where her big brother, Zac, is studying the rainforest. Lea is really excited to see the ocean and when she does, she realizes she'd rather take picture of it than swim in it. Can she overcome her fear and dive in? Then she meets a fun new friend who inspires her to embrace the thrills and beauty of Brazil. But when the fun turns to danger, Lea must find the courage to face adventure head on! Where will the next adventure take her?
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on January 1, 2016 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 1609589971
ISBN-13: 9781609589974
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lunalovegood8
    lunalovegood8Sunday, June 21, 2020 at 12:19 pm55 stars
    This book was great! I loved learning more about Lea and her adventures in Brazil! Her new friend, Camilla, was really nice! I also really liked how her relationship with her brother grew stronger! This book was great, and I can’t wait to read the next one!!
    • bsc
      bscFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:04 am
      OMG, i read this when I was 7 and I absolutely loved it!
      • fantasyreader65
        fantasyreader65Friday, May 22, 2020 at 7:56 am55 stars
        Lea is my second favorite american girl doll. I love brazil stuff and portugeese words.I also Love the beach and with lea i can go there again.
        • rainie12
          rainie12Monday, April 20, 2020 at 5:57 am55 stars
          this book is really good! i love the American girl books and dolls! if you liked the book you will love the movie!
          • YouThursday, March 26, 2020 at 10:18 am
            This book is good.
            • cheerSunday, December 10, 2017 at 2:24 pm
              I love this book and I totally recommend it
              • papihagosi
                papihagosiThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:52 am55 stars
                i think it was a very good book. I really liked this book because it is really scared me when her dad fell of the cliff but i am glad he was ok
                • abigailgsmith44
                  abigailgsmith44Thursday, August 31, 2017 at 2:46 pm55 stars
                  I liked this book, I recommend it. Lea is very brave! If you like American Girl, then you have to read this book! You really should definitely buy this book from American Girl!
                  • joeycollin13
                    joeycollin13Monday, August 28, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
                    This book was awesome! Its about a girl named Lea, and she loves to take pictures of the world around her. When her family takes a vacation to Brazil to visit her brother, Lea wants to swim in the ocean. Unfortunately she gets really scared of the waves there. She tries to hide this from her brother and family, but the secret can't be kept for long. Will Lea be able to face her fear of the ocean and swim in it before they leave? Read this book to find out.
                    • georgiasilver
                      georgiasilverSaturday, August 26, 2017 at 1:11 pm
                      I read this book when I was younger and thought that it was an okay, familiar book of a young girl and her adventures through places and people. A recommended book for the younger.