Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.314323
One day I was 12 years old and broke. Then Grandma gave me Grandpa's old riding lawnmower. I set out to mow some lawns. More people wanted me to mow their lawns. And more and more. . . . One client was Arnold the stockbroker, who offered to teach me about "the beauty of capitalism. Supply and Demand. Diversify labor. Distribute the wealth." "Wealth?" I said. "It's groovy, man," said Arnold.

If I'd known what was coming, I might have climbed on my mower and putted all the way home to hide in my room. But the lawn business grew and grew. So did my profits, which Arnold invested in many things. And one of them was Joey Pow the prizefighter. That's when my 12th summer got really interesting.
Paperback, 96 pages
Published on March 24, 2009 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0553494651
ISBN-13: 9780553494655
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Lawn BoyThursday, October 11, 2018 at 5:38 pm
    I think the book was very good. It was really exciting at some points. I also think that the book could've had a little bit more details in some parts. The book also teaches you about somethings about stocks, money, and businesses.
    • lawn boy reviewWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 4:15 pm
      I kinda liked it but I had to read it for school so XD
      • nonstopreader
        nonstopreaderTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 11:33 am
        I really liked this book. I think it teaches you about financial words, terms, and more. I really enjoyed this book it was funny, short, interesting and the slightest bit informative.
        • Lawn BoyWednesday, March 2, 2016 at 9:24 am
          I like this book because its about a poor family at first but for the boys birthday he gets a lawn mower from his grandma and then he starts mowing lawns to get a lot of money.
          • the2323
            the2323Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 12:47 pm44 stars
            HI I like this book because it is funny and cool and the love for this book is cool and
            • willbur
              willburMonday, July 21, 2014 at 2:50 pm55 stars
              It's super funny i think every body should read this book It's crazy how how he makes so much money
              • stellaFriday, October 12, 2012 at 7:35 am
                most BORING book ever it was not fun it was boring and short its about a boy moing lawns nothing is cool about that
                • cwillhite
                  Mrs. WillhiteMonday, October 8, 2012 at 5:01 pm
                  This is such a funny book. I just loved how he was such a young problem solver and business man.
                  • zebralove
                    zebraloveWednesday, August 29, 2012 at 2:49 pm55 stars
                    This is like, me favorite book ever! Please read it!!!!

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    deweyduck
                    deweyduck wrote:

                    amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                    The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                    deweyduck
                    deweyduck wrote:

                    Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                    Blubber

                    24tfontana
                    24tfontana wrote:

                    I recommend reading this book be...
                    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                    ash21
                    ash21 wrote:

                    Really good book I was hooked by...
                    Drama

                    Our Apps and Plugins