Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.744326
My uncle was exactly one inch taller than my father. But his stomach was soft. We knew this because we hit him in it once the year before, and he yelped in pain and threatened to spank us. We got sent to bed without supper because my parents said hitting someone was the worst thing you could do. Stealing was second, and lying was third. Before I was twelve I would have commited all three of these crimes.
Paperback
Published on July 12, 2009 by by Cynthia Kadohata
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:10 pm11 star
    This was my summer reading book for this year, i suppose it was okay def not a fav. Sorta sad. But it wasn’t like a fantasy, or action, so it’s up to you to read it and your thoughts on it
    • barbie125
      barbie125Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 5:23 pm55 stars
      loved the book
      • serenite
        sereniteWednesday, November 9, 2016 at 5:27 pm55 stars
        love the book so far it is one of the best and most interesting book i have ever read it is just so amazing and just so awesome and great i am just in love with this book.
        • leialover55
          leialover55Friday, April 15, 2016 at 3:59 pmFeatured
          The best book ever! (like many have said. ;)) Cynthia Kadohata does it again! (I've read another one of her books, 'The Thing About Luck', and that was almost as good as this one!) I found this book at the library and fell in love with it. I can relate to Katie and to Lynn. It's a very sad and kind of depressing book, but I kinda like depressing books. :) But it's all good in the end. I was able to get this book for free at my library. READ IT!
          • lionsrcute1
            lionsrcute1Monday, March 17, 2014 at 3:47 pm55 stars
            The Best book ever. Period. So this book was about an girl, Katie growing up with her sister, and writes all about how much she loved her sister. Still, as you know, when kids get older, they change. So, Katie's sister, Lynn starts going all girly, and stops doing the things they used to do, like camping, and starts caring about how she looks, and boys with her friend Amber. There is so much Katie doesn't understand, but when Lynn's sister gets very sick, Katies learns so much, from her experience. Warning: This book doesn't really have the best ending. I just gave the end away... Oops. :/
            • lionsrcute1
              lionsrcute1Sunday, December 1, 2013 at 11:39 am55 stars
              The best book ever. Period.
              • meepsy
                meepsyWednesday, November 13, 2013 at 4:23 am55 stars
                I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. Katie, loves her older sister more than anything else, but when tragedy strikes, will she be able to move on?
                • necrofantasy
                  necrofantasyThursday, January 31, 2013 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                  LUV IT!!!
                  • evharte
                    evharteSunday, October 28, 2012 at 3:21 pm55 starsFeatured
                    The. Best. Book. Ever. Another fantastic installment by Cynthia Kadohata, KIra-Kira certainly ranks high on my list of favorites. It's the tale of a Japanese family who moves away from their mostly Japanese village to a town where they are almost shunned. In Kira-Kira, Katie has a strong relationship with her sister, Lynn. They are the best of friends, but Lynn is the older sister, and their is a mutual agreement that she is in charge. But when something tragic occurs, Katie will need to stay strong and be take care of the family. Can she do it?
                    • hahaMonday, September 17, 2012 at 4:09 am
                      the best book ever!!