Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.744326
My uncle was exactly one inch taller than my father. But his stomach was soft. We knew this because we hit him in it once the year before, and he yelped in pain and threatened to spank us. We got sent to bed without supper because my parents said hitting someone was the worst thing you could do. Stealing was second, and lying was third. Before I was twelve I would have commited all three of these crimes.
Hardcover, 244 pages
ISBN-10: 0439799414
ISBN-13: 9780439799416
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mary_soccer14
    mary_soccer14Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 5:45 pm55 stars
    This book was amazing! I thought it had a good lesson. This lesson was to respect and love your family no matter what circumstances because in the end they are the ones there for you most. Kira-Kira touched my heart. It is about a girl named Katie and her sister Lynn, who has a disease. Her family is Japanese, and where they moved to they are ignored by most. Katie loves her sister very much and her sister loves her back. This book will touch your heart.
    • jaden07
      jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:10 pm11 star
      This was my summer reading book for this year, i suppose it was okay def not a fav. Sorta sad. But it wasn’t like a fantasy, or action, so it’s up to you to read it and your thoughts on it
      • barbie125
        barbie125Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 5:23 pm55 stars
        loved the book
        • serenite
          sereniteWednesday, November 9, 2016 at 5:27 pm55 stars
          love the book so far it is one of the best and most interesting book i have ever read it is just so amazing and just so awesome and great i am just in love with this book.
          • leialover55
            leialover55Friday, April 15, 2016 at 3:59 pmFeatured
            The best book ever! (like many have said. ;)) Cynthia Kadohata does it again! (I've read another one of her books, 'The Thing About Luck', and that was almost as good as this one!) I found this book at the library and fell in love with it. I can relate to Katie and to Lynn. It's a very sad and kind of depressing book, but I kinda like depressing books. :) But it's all good in the end. I was able to get this book for free at my library. READ IT!
            • lionsrcute1
              lionsrcute1Monday, March 17, 2014 at 3:47 pm55 stars
              The Best book ever. Period. So this book was about an girl, Katie growing up with her sister, and writes all about how much she loved her sister. Still, as you know, when kids get older, they change. So, Katie's sister, Lynn starts going all girly, and stops doing the things they used to do, like camping, and starts caring about how she looks, and boys with her friend Amber. There is so much Katie doesn't understand, but when Lynn's sister gets very sick, Katies learns so much, from her experience. Warning: This book doesn't really have the best ending. I just gave the end away... Oops. :/
              • lionsrcute1
                lionsrcute1Sunday, December 1, 2013 at 11:39 am55 stars
                The best book ever. Period.
                • meepsy
                  meepsyWednesday, November 13, 2013 at 4:23 am55 stars
                  I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. Katie, loves her older sister more than anything else, but when tragedy strikes, will she be able to move on?
                  • necrofantasy
                    necrofantasyThursday, January 31, 2013 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                    LUV IT!!!
                    • evharte
                      evharteSunday, October 28, 2012 at 3:21 pm55 starsFeatured
                      The. Best. Book. Ever. Another fantastic installment by Cynthia Kadohata, KIra-Kira certainly ranks high on my list of favorites. It's the tale of a Japanese family who moves away from their mostly Japanese village to a town where they are almost shunned. In Kira-Kira, Katie has a strong relationship with her sister, Lynn. They are the best of friends, but Lynn is the older sister, and their is a mutual agreement that she is in charge. But when something tragic occurs, Katie will need to stay strong and be take care of the family. Can she do it?