Kid Athletes: True Tales of Childhood from Sports Legends (Kid Legends)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10n/a6.223351
Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations show how Tiger Woods, Gabby Douglas, Bruce Lee, Bille Jean King, and other budding sports champions faced kid-sized challenges growing up.

Forget the gold medals, the championships, and the undefeated seasons. When all-star athletes were growing up, they had regular-kid problems just like you. Baseball legend Babe Ruth was such a troublemaker, his family sent him to reform school. Race car champion Danica Patrick fended off bullies who told her “girls can’t drive.” And football superstar Peyton Manning was forced to dance the tango in his school play. Kid Athletes tells all of their stories and more with full-color cartoon illustrations on every page. Other subjects include Billie Jean King, Jackie Robinson, Yao Ming, Gabby Douglas, Tiger Woods, Julie Krone, Bruce Lee, Muhammad Ali, Bobby Orr, Lionel Messi, and more!

Preview & Download
Educator's Guide

 

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on November 17, 2015 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594748020
ISBN-13: 9781594748028
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • super10
    super10Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 4:27 pm
    At first, I picked up this book and thought it was your average, sports biography. Wrong I was! This turned out to be more than a regular biography, this was what you call a unforgettable biography! In this book, I learned how bizarre things helped atlhletes, like when Peyton Manning did a stuck in your mind dance, and Babe Ruth's baseball coach. It was amazing! I would definitely reccomend this book to my friends, because it is more than just athletes' stories. It is a in depth look about everything that you'll never believe actually happened!
    • cerulian
      cerulianFriday, September 30, 2016 at 4:14 pm55 stars
      I am reading this book and it is amazing! I love some of the athletes in this book like Gabby Douglas. She is my favorite gymnast and I loved reading about her. I also loved reading about Peyton Manning and how he had to dance the Tango for a play. I have been skipping around and reading the stories that interest me. I will definitely let my sister read this book too.
      • rrwwnn
        rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 2:04 pm
        I liked Gabby Douglas' story best because I like gymnastics. It had fun stories about Tiger Woods and Yao Ming. My second favorite was the story about Bobby Oar. And I thought that Billie Jean King was a funny name for a little girl.
        • sr05885
          sr05885Friday, September 16, 2016 at 12:20 pm55 stars
          The book was just awesome.I loved reading about how Gabby Douglas,Billie Jean King (my Fav),and Babe Ruth became stars of the sports world.I totally recommend!
          • bobelly
            bobellySaturday, September 10, 2016 at 2:34 pm55 stars
            I liked Gabby Douglas' story best because I like gymnastics. It had fun stories about Tiger Woods and Yao Ming. My second favorite was the story about Bobby Oar. And I thought that Billie Jean King was a funny name for a little girl.
            • annabethluna
              annabethlunaSaturday, August 27, 2016 at 7:13 am44 stars
              This book is about all types of athletes around the world when they were kids. We learn many interesting facts about how they acted when they were kids and how they were treated.
              • scigirlronni
                scigirlronniSunday, August 21, 2016 at 2:49 pm55 stars
                This book is a very inspiring book. It shows how very famous athletes all started out as a kid. Like when Gabby Douglas had to deal with bullies when she was a kid. Or Babe Ruth had to deal with mean teachers. But they fix their problem and today they are known as the best athletes.I hope you love this book. David Stabler is the best author ever!
                • strawberry1234
                  strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:02 am55 stars
                  I love this book. it was fun i learned about sports and legends. read this book it is a one of a kind book !!!!!!!
                  • readingbr
                    readingbrTuesday, July 19, 2016 at 1:18 pm55 stars
                    I am not into sports, but I thought this book was really interesting. I thought it would be lame and boring. I liked the drawings and short stories.
                    • coreycole
                      coreycoleMonday, July 18, 2016 at 3:20 pm33 stars
                      this book was cool because its all real. ididnt know you could be that good and still be a kid. i didnt know that some kids dont even go to school to play sports instead. everybody should be able to do this. why do we have to go to school all day when it can be done in just an hour

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book is very funny! Its abo...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book, Teddy Mars; Almost a ...
                      Teddy Mars Book #1: Almost a Wor...

                      Puh wrote:

                      PMG I CANT WAIT TO READ THIS BOO...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...