Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.576093
In one month Jeremy Fink will turn thirteen. But does he have what it takes to be a teenager? He collects mutant candy, he won't venture more than four blocks from his apartment if he can help it, and he definitely doesn't like surprises. On the other hand, his best friend, Lizzy, isn't afraid of anything, even if that might get her into trouble now and then.
Jeremy's summer takes an unexpected turn when a mysterious wooden box arrives in the mail. According to the writing on the box, it holds the meaning of life! Jeremy is supposed to open it on his thirteenth birthday. The problem is, the keys are missing, and the box is made so that only the keys will open it without destroying what's inside. Jeremy and Lizzy set off to find the keys, but when one of their efforts goes very wrong, Jeremy starts to lose hope that he'll ever be able to open the box. But he soon discovers that when you're meeting people named Oswald Oswald and using a private limo to deliver unusual objects to strangers all over the city, there might be other ways of finding out the meaning of life.
Lively characters, surprising twists, and thought-provoking ideas make Wendy Mass's latest novel an unforgettable read.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on November 1, 2006 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316058297
ISBN-13: 9780316058292
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:17 pm55 stars
    On Jeremy Fink's thirteenth birthday, he receives a box with the words The Meaning of Life written on the top. He and his bestfriend, Lizzy, are excited to see what is in the inside. However, they realize that the box is locked, and there is no way to open it without the key unless you destroy what is on the inside. He and his bestfriend go on an adventure to find the keys to the meaning of life. This book was funny, and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend it to people who have enjoyed other books written by this author. I rate it 5/5.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:39 pm55 stars
      On Jeremy Fink's thirteenth birthday, he receives a box with the words The Meaning of Life written on the top. He and his bestfriend, Lizzy, are excited to see what is in the inside. However, they realize that the box is locked, and there is no way to open it without the key unless you destroy what is on the inside. He and his bestfriend go on an adventure to find the keys to the meaning of life. This book was funny, and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend it to people who have enjoyed other books written by this author. I rate it 5/5.
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderTuesday, May 5, 2020 at 10:46 am44 stars
        This book is amazing! One part is for older kids, but the rest should be for ages 8 and up! I loved this book. It's about a boy named Jeremy Fink, a girl, Lizzy Muldoun, who is also Jeremy's best friend, and a mysterious box for Jeremy. Jeremy's dad died when Jeremy was only 8, and since the box was from his dad for Jeremy to open on his 13th birthday, it means a lot to Jeremy to open the box.he problem is, the keys are missing, and Jeremy and Lizzy must find it before Jeremy's 13th birthday. With twists and turns that will astonish you, Lizzy and Jeremy a lot of people and make lots of choices that could greatly affect their journey! This book is a must read!
        • wadubuhe-157805874542
          wadubuhe-157805874542Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
          In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is there was a lot of suspense in the book. Another reason why is I really like mystery and never you never know what is going to happen next. The last reason why is Jeremy and the characters tell there point of view the whole time so you get their perspectives throughout the whole story. Spoiler Alert My favorite part of the book is when Jeremy and his best friend find out that one of his dads friend had the key. So then they could open the locked box. You might like this book if you like books with a really happy ending and have suspense along the way. You should read this book because it is very interesting and can teach you a life lesson.
          • unicorn_123Friday, April 12, 2019 at 4:24 pm
            i love her boooks '_' :P
            • petuducifi
              petuducifiFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:15 am
              This is such a good book about a guy named Jeremy and his friend named Lizzy got into all this trouble for just one thing trying to get the right keys to open this box and he can only open it with these special keys will Jermey and Lizzy find all the keys to open the box before Jeremys 13 birthday .you will have to read to find out.
              • amy_14
                amy_14Monday, November 7, 2016 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                This book is so good. The main character, Jeremy Fink has found a mysterious box, a present for his thirteenth birthday. This box is important because it is from his late father who has been 'cursed' or rather 'blessed' from what the fortune teller says, that he will die when he is forty. His father immediately believed that he will die, and he planned this birthday to be the best birthday Jeremy ever had. In order to open this box, Jeremy will need to find 4 keys that will fit. Read this book to find out if Jeremy finds the keys. Or will he???
                • hamsterlover5
                  hamsterlover5Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 10:19 am55 stars
                  loved it
                  • hamsterlover5
                    hamsterlover5Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 10:15 am55 stars
                    I love her books
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitSunday, June 5, 2016 at 11:58 am44 stars
                      I read this book only because I like the author, but then realized that I kept wanting to keep reading since it's so thought-provoking and teaches many things.