James and the Giant Peach (The Best of Roald Dahl)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6Q4.823843
James has lived with his two beastly aunts ever since his parents were eaten up outside London Zoo by an angry escaped rhinoceros. Then one day something very peculiar happens - something magic, that is to completely change James's miserable existence and take him on an unbelievable journey.
Paperback, 128 pages
Published on March 17, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142418234
ISBN-13: 9780142418239
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • summerprince
    summerprinceThursday, January 14, 2021 at 3:17 am55 stars
    Hi, I just finished this book it's very cool and engaging. My fav part is when the peach turns into a place for all of the kids to hang out. Also I think aunt Spiker and aunt Sponge are mean and just jealous of James mother. Which btw she died. But over all the book was fun and funny . 👍
    • Rejoice Sunday, January 10, 2021 at 10:57 am
      I think this book is fun and exciting hope yall can read it soon!
      • CookieswirlcfanSaturday, October 3, 2020 at 11:35 pm
        I read this it's GREAT
        • sweet-readlover
          sweet-readloverSaturday, October 3, 2020 at 10:13 pm55 stars
          I love this book. I agree with emmacookie976 about the peach.
          • emmacookie976
            emmacookie976Thursday, September 3, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
            Love this book! The peach must of been so yummy!
            • sweet-readlover
              sweet-readloverMonday, July 27, 2020 at 11:13 pm55 stars
              This book take place to many adventures by rolling down inside a giant peach.
              • cavachon
                cavachonFriday, July 10, 2020 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                The main character in this book is James. In the beginning, his two aunts were very mean to him. And then one day, they saw a peach on a tree and noticed that it was growing. James noticed a hole in the peach and then he crawled inside. He found a little door and met a centipede, a glow worm, a green grasshopper, an earthworm, a silkworm, and a spider. This book is easy to read. I would recommend this book.
                • cherry-blossom
                  cherry-blossomThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:14 pm55 stars
                  GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY.GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY.GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY.GREAT. FUNNY. GREAT. FUNNY. This book is a must-have for whoever likes great and funny books!
                  • sjsj
                    sjsjWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 8:08 am44 stars
                    James is depressed. He has a lonely life with only his two horrible aunts as company. But, one day, an old man gives Percy a bag full of gems. He tells James that these jewels have great power, and to not let his aunts get it. Unfortunately, James trips. The gems spill and seep into the ground, and they encounter some bugs. The bugs grow huge, along with the peach that also encounters the jewels. When James goes into the peach, it starts rolling and soon, with James's clever thinking, begins flying! On the journey, they encounter Cloud-Men, sharks, and more. Their journey ends in a place far away from where James lived...
                    • cassadya
                      cassadyaWednesday, December 25, 2019 at 5:49 pm44 stars
                      This book is about an ordinary boy named James. He works for his aunts and has no toys and a plain room. He dose his work by chopping wood in the hot sun. Also he has no parents,they left his life for ever. That's why he lives with his aunts. The peach on the other hand is a special one. The reason for that is it is home to special animal friends that help James on his journey to happiness and some freedom.