Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.243048

Beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli, author of Maniac Magee and Wringer, addresses issues of identity, belonging, family, and bullying in this humorous and heartfelt novel about twins.

Jake and Lily are twins. Despite their slightly different interests and temperaments, they feel exactly the same—like two halves of one person. But the year they turn eleven, everything changes. Their parents announce it’s time for separate bedrooms. Jake starts hanging out with a pack of boys on the block. And Lily is devastated, not to mention angry. Who is she without Jake? And as her brother falls under the influence of the neighborhood bully, he also must ask himself—who is the real Jake?

This is an often funny, poignant, and profound story of growing up, growing apart, and the difficult process of figuring out who you really are.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on April 30, 2013 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0064471985
ISBN-13: 9780064471985
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • thatredheadxd
    thatredheadxdFriday, September 21, 2018 at 11:53 am55 stars
    Jake and Lily were twins born on a train. Each year, on their birthday, they wake up at the train station at 3:00 a.m. in their pajamas, and they sleepwalk there. Throughout the whole day, they can communicate to each other through their minds without talking. It's a twin thing. / Example: Lily chases after a ball into the road, suddenly, she hears Jack cry, "STOP!" right before a car comes zooming by. She's saved, but Jack was really all the way across town at the dentist office the whole time. / Lily becomes too obsessed/attached with the whole twin thing and wants it too keep going. But soon, Jack changes and doesn't want to spend time with her anymore. Will Jack ever come to his senses? U'll hafta read the rest to find out... :)
    • wolfdog
      wolfdogThursday, May 24, 2018 at 6:25 am55 stars
      Wonderful! I read this book in school, and it is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! It reminds me of my own brother.
      • chasenpaper66Friday, June 9, 2017 at 7:46 am
        I am the one of the most better readers in my grade
        • polarbearguy146
          polarbearguy146Friday, June 9, 2017 at 7:24 am55 stars
          It is awesome! I am a twin! It has a lot of cool twin stuff
          • dancegirl_j2006
            dancegirl_j2006Thursday, January 12, 2017 at 7:19 am55 stars
            I would so recommend this book. Each chapter is either from Lily's or Jake's point of view. They are both twins and have gone on tones of adventures with each other, but now they are a little grown up for that, Jake thinks. See what happens in the book.
            • makgag1617
              makgag1617Friday, October 21, 2016 at 7:54 am55 stars
              I loved this book. Its kind of like a conversation between them but also tells a story while there talking to each other. It also sometimes does't have them talking to eachother but they take turns telling parts of the story. Its a relatively easy book to read I'm now in 6th grade and I read it 4th grade and you can tell that I can remember the story very easily because its a very good and fun book.
              • Book LoverMonday, November 2, 2015 at 11:27 am
                I love this book, it is such a wonderful book, and I keep rereading it!
                • parkerposi
                  parkerposiFriday, September 11, 2015 at 7:51 am55 stars
                  I thought this book sounded really interesting by the back of the book and so far I really like it i think other people should read it because right in the beginning it grabs you in and you cant stop reading it is so good I hope you guys decide to read it
                  • samfarkle
                    samfarkleThursday, May 28, 2015 at 3:05 pm44 stars
                    i thought this book is going to the this book.but it was really good.i think it is just a little silly
                    • maranita
                      maranitaTuesday, March 10, 2015 at 7:36 pm33 stars
                      This sounds like a great book!:)