Beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli, author of Maniac Magee and Wringer, addresses issues of identity, belonging, family, and bullying in this humorous and heartfelt novel about twins.

Jake and Lily are twins. Despite their slightly different interests and temperaments, they feel exactly the same—like two halves of one person. But the year they turn eleven, everything changes. Their parents announce it’s time for separate bedrooms. Jake starts hanging out with a pack of boys on the block. And Lily is devastated, not to mention angry. Who is she without Jake? And as her brother falls under the influence of the neighborhood bully, he also must ask himself—who is the real Jake?

This is an often funny, poignant, and profound story of growing up, growing apart, and the difficult process of figuring out who you really are.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 8, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0060281359
ISBN-13: 9780060281359
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • divadancer101
    divadancer101Monday, June 5, 2017 at 4:14 pm33 stars
    This book is about twins named Jake and Lily. They go to the train station every birthday because they were both born on the train. Jake and Lily get into a fight. Overall this book was was okay but got boring at the end.
    • demosthenes
      demosthenesSaturday, October 15, 2016 at 3:05 pm
      i want this book so bad...
      • smiley6
        smiley6Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 1:51 pm55 stars
        This book is sweet and awesome ! I love how they each tell a different side of the story !
        • lrohne24
          lrohne24Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 10:07 am
          I liked this book a lot. The start was great, but it got a little boring in the end.
          • pupayy
            pupayyWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:31 pm55 stars
            Sweet story about finding your inner self and who you want to be. Make right decisions and never give into the wrong no matter what they tell you. Remeber true friends are hard to find because they can always be wrong. Never let those bad friends let yourself go against your beliefs. Stand for them and never against
            • loubiscuit
              loubiscuitThursday, December 11, 2014 at 12:40 pm
              I like this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves humor, goobers, and magic.
              • jellyjoy
                jellyjoySunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                I have the book next to me
                • jellyjoy
                  jellyjoySunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:02 pm55 stars
                  I have a twin brother and sister we tried to do his nails when we were six it was so funny :-D
                  • pupayy
                    pupayyWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                    I have a twin brother too! Never would touch my Barbies! LOL
                    • ikyra_marie
                      ikyra_marieSunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:17 pm
                      ooo i have a twin too ;)
                    • maxi990
                      maxi990Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at 9:19 am44 stars
                      When twins Jake and Lily wake up in a train station with the smell of pickles, they know they have something special. They're closer than ever, until Jake starts to hang out with the neighborhood boys. Lily is completely devastated and tries to the best of her ability to get her sibling back. As Jake's clique becomes more negative, he's faced with choice of his sister, or the friend he's always dreamed of.
                      • lolfriend687
                        lolfriend687Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 2:50 pm44 stars
                        this book is very good. It gets a little boring at the end though.

                        Recent Kids Book Reviews

                        D.R wrote:

                        I think that Tales of a Fourth G...
                        Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                        LR wrote:

                        It was pretty interesting becaus...
                        Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                        J.B wrote:

                        The reason I say it was a excell...
                        Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                        c.k.w wrote:

                        This was just an OK book because...
                        Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...