Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.243048

Beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli, author of Maniac Magee and Wringer, addresses issues of identity, belonging, family, and bullying in this humorous and heartfelt novel about twins.

Jake and Lily are twins. Despite their slightly different interests and temperaments, they feel exactly the same—like two halves of one person. But the year they turn eleven, everything changes. Their parents announce it’s time for separate bedrooms. Jake starts hanging out with a pack of boys on the block. And Lily is devastated, not to mention angry. Who is she without Jake? And as her brother falls under the influence of the neighborhood bully, he also must ask himself—who is the real Jake?

This is an often funny, poignant, and profound story of growing up, growing apart, and the difficult process of figuring out who you really are.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 8, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0060281359
ISBN-13: 9780060281359
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • diamond897
    diamond897Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 5:46 pm55 stars
    I thought this was very good book about family. There were twins who had a special connection. But as they grew older they grew apart the brother made friends and did not want to hang out with his sister. The sister at first wanted to always hang out brother. However she made a friend and made her own life.
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 12:50 pm44 stars
      This book was very cool, because I am a twin! We do not have goombla though... I love the fact that their grandparents are hippies, and that in the ends They both have new friends. I think that the playground and clubhouse are so cool, and I love Ernie's mom!!! I recommend this book for ages 9- 13
      • divadancer101
        divadancer101Monday, June 5, 2017 at 4:14 pm33 stars
        This book is about twins named Jake and Lily. They go to the train station every birthday because they were both born on the train. Jake and Lily get into a fight. Overall this book was was okay but got boring at the end.
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesSaturday, October 15, 2016 at 3:05 pm
          i want this book so bad...
          • smiley6
            smiley6Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 1:51 pm55 stars
            This book is sweet and awesome ! I love how they each tell a different side of the story !
            • hummingbird1
              hummingbird1Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 10:07 am
              I liked this book a lot. The start was great, but it got a little boring in the end.
              • pupayy
                pupayyWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                Sweet story about finding your inner self and who you want to be. Make right decisions and never give into the wrong no matter what they tell you. Remeber true friends are hard to find because they can always be wrong. Never let those bad friends let yourself go against your beliefs. Stand for them and never against
                • loubiscuit
                  loubiscuitThursday, December 11, 2014 at 12:40 pm
                  I like this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves humor, goobers, and magic.
                  • jellyjoy
                    jellyjoySunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                    I have the book next to me
                    • jellyjoy
                      jellyjoySunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:02 pm55 stars
                      I have a twin brother and sister we tried to do his nails when we were six it was so funny :-D
                      • pupayy
                        pupayyWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                        I have a twin brother too! Never would touch my Barbies! LOL
                        • ikyra_marie
                          ikyra_marieSunday, October 26, 2014 at 1:17 pm
                          ooo i have a twin too ;)