Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.739108
In his new middle grade novel that debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, James Patterson introduces his hilarious new heroine, Jacky Ha-Ha, a class clown who makes people laugh with her so they can't laugh at her.

With her irresistible urge to tell a joke in every situation--even when she really, really shouldn't--twelve-year-old Jacky Ha-Ha loves to make people laugh. And cracking wise helps distract her from thinking about not-so-funny things in her life, like her mom serving in a dangerous, faraway war, and a dad who's hardly ever home.

But no matter how much fun Jacky has, she can't seem to escape her worries. So one starlit night, she makes a promise to keep her family together...even if she has to give up the one thing that makes her happy. But can she stop being Jacky Ha-Ha, if that's who she really is?
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on March 21, 2016 by Jimmy Patterson Books / Little, Brown and Company
ISBN-10: 0316262498
ISBN-13: 9780316262491
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • imabookworm3
    imabookworm3Friday, August 9, 2019 at 8:37 am44 stars
    I decided to read this book because I love humor. Also, James Patterson is a really good author. It is told from a point of view that she has about 6 other siblings. Her mom is off at war and her older sister is at college. Something bad happens.
    • zzayumi
      zzayumiSunday, May 26, 2019 at 3:35 am55 stars
      This a great book, full of surprising and exciting things. I really liked this book, and my friend recommended it to me. I read it, and it was great!
      • CbearTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 8:44 am
        This book is about a girl named Jacky who promises to not be funny again, but on the first day of school she gets twenty detentions. Soon she meets this teacher who helps her be in the play. READ THIS BOOK IF YOU WANT TO FIND OUT MORE.
        • llamalover24
          llamalover24Monday, December 17, 2018 at 11:42 am
          I love this book so much
          • LOVEtoread123Wednesday, December 12, 2018 at 5:15 am
            This is the best book I have ever read. It is so amazing I just started it agian because I couldn't resist picking it up!!!!
            • texasgirl23
              texasgirl23Friday, December 7, 2018 at 11:24 am
              I LOVE this book!!!
              • Buttercup102Thursday, September 6, 2018 at 9:09 pm
                I've started reading it in the beggining it sounds like it's a really good book
                • love219
                  love219Monday, June 4, 2018 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                  Jacky Ha-Ha is a very good book and I would read it over and over again.
                  • tcwgaming
                    tcwgamingTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 6:59 am55 stars
                    so excited to read this book it looks really funny XD HAHA! I love James Patterson's books! They are awesome!
                    • kiwiMonday, December 11, 2017 at 5:23 pm
                      i loved it so i did it for my book report