Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.931606
Twelve-year-old Isabel is dying to get out of her small town of Willow, Oregon, and travel like her best friend, Sophie. But when Isabel’s mother decides to open up a cupcake shop across town, Isabel is once again stuck in Willow for the summer…until she learns of a baking contest where the finalists get an all-expenses paid trip to New York City to compete in the final bake-off. But Sophie is also entering the contest, and Isabel’s mother has reservations. Can Isabel finally realize her dreams of leaving Willow without hurting two of the most important people in her life?
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on March 9, 2010 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416990844
ISBN-13: 9781416990840
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 3:28 pm
    Lisa Schroeder's sweet and short way of writing is once again brought into light in her new book, "It's Raining Cupcakes." All Isabel Browning's ever wanted to do is to travel the world, which is why she dotes on her flight attendant aunt. And why not? All around her, people are accomplishing things. Her best friend Sophie seems to get everything she wants, her neighbor creates beautiful art murals, and perhaps most excitingly, her mother is opening a cupcake shop in their town of Willow, Oregon! But instead, Isabel feels like all she is allowed to do is sit and watch and help, never do anything of her own. So when a recipe contest comes up, she is determined to try and win the $1,000 and trip to New York City. However, her mom pressures her to concoct a cupcake recipe, sure that it will be great publicity for her shop if Isabel wins. Meanwhile, Sophie becomes more perfect than ever, acting like a better daughter to Mrs. Browning than Isabel herself. Not to mention that Isabel's mom's anxiety has not disappeared, and she complains and second-guesses her shop every two seconds. Isabel is fed up with the obligations and tension around her. Just this once, she wants to be the best at something.
    • Hana.AFriday, March 9, 2018 at 11:48 am
      I love this book because it teaches you how to deal with a lot of situations at once I really recommend this book for others.
      • readsoccer8
        readsoccer8Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 9:48 am
        I really love this book and definetly recommend it to others
        • lovetodance
          lovetodanceTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 2:15 pm
          Although some parts are a little to dramatic I still LOVED this book.
          • smartie324
            smartie324Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 12:49 pm55 stars
            i read this book and i kept on reading it and reading it! :)
            • 26ms
              26msThursday, September 17, 2015 at 11:57 am44 stars
              i really liked about it was that when they solve a problem there is a other problem i read this book about a year ago and i am still love this book so much!!!
              • emmy1234
                emmy1234Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 9:24 amFeatured
                Twelve year old Isabel is dying to get out of Willow, Oregon (population 39, 257) and experience something other than her small town. It seems that everyone gets to travel except Isabel--even her best friend, Sophie. When Isabel's mother decides to open up a cupcake shop across town, Isabel is once again stuck in Willow for the summer as she tries to help her mom get the shop up and running. But when Isabel learns of a baking contest where the finalists get an all-expense paid trip to New York City, she realizes this is her chance to finally get out of Willow. Except there are two major roadblocks to this plan: Sophie, who also is entering the contest and is always the best at everything, and her own mom, who wants her to enter the contest on her terms.Can Isabel manage to finally do something for herself, without losing her best friend and further straining her already tenuous relationship with her mother? In this sweet coming-of-age story from popular teen author Lisa Schroeder, Isabel discovers that it's not about where you go in life as much as it is about enjoying the view wherever you are.
                • rainbow345
                  rainbow345Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 1:36 pm
                  I really want to have it
                  • unicornsrreal23
                    unicornsrreal23Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 12:17 pm55 stars
                    This is a really good book, and funny. :)
                    • author123
                      author123Friday, May 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm
                      It's SOOOOOO good. I want the sequel. I read this in Gr 2!!! LONG time ago
                      • hungergames101
                        hungergames101Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 6:43 am
                        Same here! I read this book a while back when I was like in 3rd grade. I don't really remember it but I do remember that I loved the book.