Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 1 - 5T3.432209
When her parents divorce, a sixth grader struggles to understand that sometimes people are unable to live together.
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on August 1, 1986 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440441587
ISBN-13: 9780440441588
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Bob the guyThursday, June 7, 2018 at 10:01 am
    Not the best beginning. Not the best ending. Especially the ending. Just goes to show you not everything ends up happily-ever-after.
    • catslovewaffles
      catslovewafflesTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 7:00 am55 stars
      Karen is facing some hard changes. Her parents are getting divorced, her brother is missing and she can't even tell her best friend. She would do literally anything to have her parents stay married, happily.
      • soccergirl00
        soccergirl00Sunday, February 15, 2015 at 8:30 am55 stars
        This book was great and I really enjoyed it.
        • maddyp18
          maddyp18Monday, August 25, 2014 at 8:15 pm55 stars
          my favorite part was when karen found out that everything would be okay
          • dreamerjewl
            dreamerjewlThursday, October 24, 2013 at 11:39 am44 stars
            Very realistic and focus's on kids dealing with their parents divorce. Love it!
            • bookworm890
              bookworm890Friday, September 13, 2013 at 9:44 pm55 stars
              A story about a girl struggling with the possibility of her parents divorce. A bit too "real" for me (go fantasy), but a great story for people who are coping with challenges in their own lives.
              • sparkling5
                sparkling5Sunday, August 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                Judy Blume once again writes a book that is absolutely awesome! this book is about a girl who is struggling with her life because of her parents fighting, school, relationships etc. Its so touching of how Judy Blume can write these wonderful books about a girl's personal life. 5 stars!
                • bookish5
                  bookish5Monday, August 5, 2013 at 8:39 am55 stars
                  I haven't read all of Judy Blume's books, and this is one of them. However, I'd really like to read it because the plot sounds so interesting and I know I'd love the writing style.
                  • edmodo-y7uhdckgug
                    edmodo-y7uhdckgugThursday, August 1, 2013 at 4:24 pm33 stars
                    This book is about a girl ( Karen) who thinks her world is ending. Her parents aren't getting along, her dad moved out, and they might get a divorce. She got the teacher that she wanted but over the summer she got married. Could anything get any better? Read this book to find out.
                    • fireblazes88
                      fireblazes88Monday, June 24, 2013 at 9:39 pm44 stars
                      Karen is an ordinary girl who's parents are going through a very hard time. They always have arguments over small things like pie. They are never satisfied with each other, so they divorced. Karen is sad and tries all her best to try to get them back together, but nothing seems to work. In the end of the book, Karen realizes that life is unfair and you don't always get what you want. She actually got over it that her parents were divorced. I think this book was very sad and touching, but altogether, I would recommend it!