It's a Numbers Game! Basketball: The math behind the perfect bounce pass, the buzzer-beating bank shot, and so much more! (National Geographic Kids Espn)

Why do NBA players only have 24 seconds to score a basket? What's the geometry behind making the perfect shot? Become a basketball pro and learn all about the numbers and math behind this popular sport.

Numbers are everywhere in basketball--from the dimensions of the court to the points you can score to the digits on each player's jersey. In this awesome new book, you'll learn how these numbers make basketball the game we know and love today, and also get a few tips along the way on how to improve your game. As Kobe Bryant wrote in his Foreword for the book, "Sucess is in the detail--and the detail is in the math." Read about amazing statistics and learn how to track the stats of your favorite basketball stars. Discover how to improve your bounce pass and chest pass with geometry and physics. Colorful graphics explain the math behind the sport, and cool photos make you feel like you're right on the court. Filled with sports trivia and fun activities at the end of every chapter, this book is sure to be a slam dunk with kids who can't get enough of the game and want to learn more.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on February 4, 2020 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426336896
ISBN-13: 9781426336898
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mazzyThursday, August 13, 2020 at 9:39 am
    i love basketball my favorite player is lebron james and i voted for him i love DOGO i chat to people here and get points i unregisterd
    • smartkid2Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 9:06 am
      i mean i love DOGO
      • doggylover😍😍Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 1:12 pm
        basketball is my fave and i loved the book im sure someone who wants to learn about basketball they turn up here and love the book such as much as i did i am kinda new at DOGO and so far so good i see the comments and read here every day and i LOVE IT!!!!! i will recomend this to everyone and if i could to the entire world i would im gonna try to that!!! bye!!!!!!
        • katyMonday, August 10, 2020 at 10:47 am
          i changed my look and i loved the artical too i love basket if thats how you wright that whatevs but my brother plays basket but corona so he just takes videos now i love DOGO who does not!!😍feel so cool reading the artical😎😎😎 by the way me 8
          • katyMonday, August 10, 2020 at 10:38 am
            i love ice cream if we are talking of the book of ice cream im in by the way i love your name janelle
            • JanelleWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:21 am
              This is good book
              • sjsj
                sjsjMonday, May 18, 2020 at 7:22 am55 stars
                This novel is very interesting. It showed me the perfect degree of how to get a perfect basket. I really enjoyed this book, and I think anyone who reads it will like it, too!
                • JaeminTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 6:42 pm
                  I love basketball my favorite player is steph curry
                  • gak893
                    gak893Friday, April 24, 2020 at 2:47 am55 stars
                    Good but i like dodgeball
                    • azzyWednesday, April 22, 2020 at 12:14 pm
                      i love this book