Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.440531
Newberry Award Winner.
Library Binding, 197 pages
Published on October 1, 2008 by Paw Prints
ISBN-10: 1439555621
ISBN-13: 9781439555620
23 Book Reviews
  • sasukelover44
    sasukelover44Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 11:15 am55 stars
    this book is so great !!!!!! i love it so much i can read it 100 more times
    • sasukelover44
      sasukelover44Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 11:21 am55 stars
      it is great because it has a little drama `i want to know how old she is in the book right now
    • crazy2009
      crazy2009Wednesday, January 13, 2021 at 4:58 am55 stars
      This book was the best!!! I absolutely LOVED it. it tells about a girl who's father was the chief before he died. People from an island came to rescue them. the girl got left behind because her brother was not on the boat. they looked for ways to survive, but her brother died. The dogs on the island killed him and she vowed to kill them too. after a few years, she makes a house for herself and other materials needed. finally, she makes peace with a dog and names him after her brother. she makes a human friend who soon leaves, but she is fine with it. after 18 years she sees a boat meant to take her to a different place and she goes. before she died she got baptized and got the name Maria. she died of an illness of food. she was so used to making food on her own when others tried to make food for her, he got sick. she died with only being 9 months on the island. she was buried at the side of the church with an unmarked grave, where she is to this day
      • sasukelover44
        sasukelover44Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 11:22 am55 stars
        i agree it was the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 2:37 pm55 stars
        After being left on her dolphin shaped island, Karana must learn how to survive. But each passing day makes her hope that Karana's people will come back for her diminish more and more. So when she finally realizes that they will not, Karana continues her life and has many interesting adventures. I would recommend this for ages 9+ I really liked this book because I read Robinson Crusoe and I enjoyed it because I like tales of survival. The details were very descriptive and as usual, Scott O'Dell has written another wonderful book.
        • curry30Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:16 am
          This book is pretty cool.
          • evampire
            evampireWednesday, June 10, 2015 at 10:13 am55 stars
            This is a beautiful sotry about a girl left on an island. I would recommend it to anyone. This series is so beautiful.
            • totomonkey
              totomonkeyMonday, May 25, 2015 at 10:49 am44 stars
              Island of the Blue Dolphins is an emotional,beautiful story about a young girl named Karana who's home is the island of the blue dolphins.But when a storm approaches, her tribe has to leave before the storm crashes the ship ,but when Karana's brother got left behind she did a bold action, and let her self fall behind as well with him.So she had to learn how to survive on the Island. In my opinion this book is one of the best ones I have ever read I believe that it's a lesson teaching story that brings out tears, happiness, and sorrow.
              • ashly5465
                ashly5465Tuesday, July 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm44 stars
                This book is about a girl named Karana who lives on a island with all of her people. That all stopped when the auluets came to hunt otter but became very mean and killed most of the tribe. Soon after that the rest of the tribe left. Karana is alone.
                • nc
                  ncMonday, June 3, 2013 at 2:38 pm22 stars
                  it was not that great of a book. It was very boring. i did not want to keep reading it. Lots of dead people and it was on of the worst books i read
                  • jed
                    jedMonday, June 3, 2013 at 2:38 pm22 stars
                    It is a complicated story with a bunch of dead people and it was very sad. It did not get you very hooked into the story.
                    • xgispzx
                      xgispzxMonday, March 25, 2013 at 5:02 pm22 stars
                      I did not like this book because, I just adore animals, especially dogs, and in this book, the main character Karana killed quite a couple of them because they had killed her 6 year old brother. Too much deaths in this book, so I did not enjoy it AT ALL :(