Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.440531
Newberry Award Winner.
Library Binding, 197 pages
Published on October 1, 2008 by Paw Prints
ISBN-10: 1439555621
ISBN-13: 9781439555620
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • curry30Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:16 am
    This book is pretty cool.
    • evampire
      evampireWednesday, June 10, 2015 at 10:13 am55 stars
      This is a beautiful sotry about a girl left on an island. I would recommend it to anyone. This series is so beautiful.
      • totomonkey
        totomonkeyMonday, May 25, 2015 at 10:49 am44 stars
        Island of the Blue Dolphins is an emotional,beautiful story about a young girl named Karana who's home is the island of the blue dolphins.But when a storm approaches, her tribe has to leave before the storm crashes the ship ,but when Karana's brother got left behind she did a bold action, and let her self fall behind as well with him.So she had to learn how to survive on the Island. In my opinion this book is one of the best ones I have ever read I believe that it's a lesson teaching story that brings out tears, happiness, and sorrow.
        • ashly5465
          ashly5465Tuesday, July 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm44 stars
          This book is about a girl named Karana who lives on a island with all of her people. That all stopped when the auluets came to hunt otter but became very mean and killed most of the tribe. Soon after that the rest of the tribe left. Karana is alone.
          • nc
            ncMonday, June 3, 2013 at 2:38 pm22 stars
            it was not that great of a book. It was very boring. i did not want to keep reading it. Lots of dead people and it was on of the worst books i read
            • jed
              jedMonday, June 3, 2013 at 2:38 pm22 stars
              It is a complicated story with a bunch of dead people and it was very sad. It did not get you very hooked into the story.
              • xgispzx
                xgispzxMonday, March 25, 2013 at 5:02 pm22 stars
                I did not like this book because, I just adore animals, especially dogs, and in this book, the main character Karana killed quite a couple of them because they had killed her 6 year old brother. Too much deaths in this book, so I did not enjoy it AT ALL :(
                • makenzee4th
                  makenzee4thMonday, November 26, 2012 at 2:14 pm
                  i decided this book because this was one of my book report. and i wanted to put it on my book shelf.
                  • tracyr
                    tracyrSunday, November 25, 2012 at 11:54 am55 stars
                    I wanted to read this book because one of my favorite animals are dolphins I like the part when she saved the leader of the pack of wild dogs from dying
                    • vanessa4th
                      vanessa4thMonday, October 15, 2012 at 2:27 pm55 stars
                      The book Island of the Blue Dolphins is about a girl named Karana that got left alone on a island.The Aleuts came to their island to hunt otter.One day the Aleuts attacked the Indians and killed most of the Indians.White men came to get them away from the island.Ramo got left on the island and Karana