Island of the Blue Dolphins

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.440531
The gripping story of young Karana, who survives by herself for eighteen years on a deserted island off the California coast.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sandpiper
ISBN-10: 0547328613
ISBN-13: 9780547328614
168 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • princessmuscles
    princessmusclesTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 3:34 pm44 starsFeatured
    This is a really addicting book with excitement and points of sadness.A novel that has a heartwarming sense of weirdness that transforms into beautiful culture.A mix of a fantasy and non-fiction.This is a book that is based on real life event in the coastal town of Galas-at,a Native tribe village.This is a really lovely story and recommend this uplifting book for all ages!
    • juanstayballing
      juanstayballingFriday, December 16, 2016 at 12:32 pm55 stars
      far off the coast of california looms a harsh rock known as san nicols islamd. Blue dolphins splash in the water surounding it, sea otters play in the kelp bed, and seabirds roost in its crags. once, Islands aslo lived on the island until one day they decided to leave and sailed to the east.
      • annabethhermone
        annabethhermoneThursday, November 3, 2016 at 7:12 pm
        My class is going to read this book.... My Sis say its a WONDERFUL book
        • iifreeze
          iifreezeWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:30 pm
          A great book. Karana is left on an island and must use her surroundings to survive.
          • bluejems
            bluejemsWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:25 pm
            I didn't read the whole book but it was good I guess.
            • pororo06
              pororo06Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 12:29 am55 stars
              This is a story I read in 4th grade. It was so good that I can remember every single detail in this book. It related to the Native Americans, a subject we were learning in Social Studies. I think it helped me learn new facts about Native Americans.
              • mastercash101
                mastercash101Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 2:43 pm
                loved it it's just i need to read it again
                • katniss75
                  katniss75Friday, June 17, 2016 at 8:50 am22 stars
                  same with other ibd book review
                  • katniss75
                    katniss75Friday, June 17, 2016 at 8:48 am22 stars
                    It was ok i guess. All that was going on was. "I want water," so she goes to get water then, "I want food," so she gets food and says, "I want more water to wash it all down," and the cycle repeats.
                    • gn10ac67cl98
                      gn10ac67cl98Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 1:10 pm
                      I've read this book and it is awesome!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      nerdyunicorn

                      This book is filled with action....
                      The Shadows (The Books of Elsewh...

                      sydnaaaaaaaay wrote:

                      this is a really cute book i lov...
                      125 Pet Rescues: From Pound to P...

                      lokidaftr87

                      Its a very good book because my ...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...