Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.469917
The second book in the middle-grade dystopian fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews calls “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter,” by New York Times bestselling author Lisa McMann.

Following the life-altering events at the conclusion of The Unwanteds, the stark world of Quill and the magical haven of Artimé are now home to whoever wants to live there, whether they are Wanteds, Unwanteds, or Necessaries.
In Artimé, Alex Stowe and his friends continue to hone their artistic magical spells while welcoming newcomers, wondering how long this peace between Quill and Artimé will last. Alex is stunned when Mr. Today comes to him with a very special request—one Alex questions his readiness for, until circumstances offer a dramatic answer.
And back in Quill, Aaron Stowe, Alex’s twin, faces a very different path. Devastated by his loss of status after Justine’s defeat and seething with rage toward Alex, Aaron is stealthily planning his revenge and return to power.
Alex and Aaron’s separate stories proceed with suspenseful pacing, colliding in a stunning climax that elevates sibling rivalry to epic proportions and leaves the fate of both worlds hanging in the balance.
Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407719
ISBN-13: 9781442407718
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 26rlemon
    26rlemonFriday, September 13, 2019 at 2:12 pm
    an outstannding book
    • xx6figuresxx
      xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:54 am55 stars
      My 2nd favorite series. This whole series is just outright awesome and insanely action packed with some hilarious moments and romance, its got everything.
      • fjfj
        fjfjWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 12:18 pm44 stars
        This is a great book. People form the island of silence can't talk, and that becomes a problem when Alex's friends are no where to be seen. With no way of communicating, and with a terrible ruler, Alex's friend are stuck on an island that Alex doesn't even know of.
        • pieasaurusrex21
          pieasaurusrex21Monday, January 1, 2018 at 7:46 pm55 stars
          Wow! This is a terrific book! Most of the time, I was unable to put this down! It made me nervous (a page turner!), laugh, cry, and jump for joy. After reading this, I couldn't wait (even for a few seconds) to get my hands on the third book.
          • astrogirl5
            astrogirl5Friday, October 6, 2017 at 5:50 pm
            This book is the best book ever. I could never stop reading. This is about a island name quill and Artime and how one of the main characters (Alex Stowe) brother (Aaron Stowe) wages war on Artime making devistational blows.
            • zszoo
              zszooWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 12:19 pm55 stars
              Best series ever!!!!!!!! Great Book Lisa Mcmann. I loved Going WIld also!!!!!!!!
              • max243103
                max243103Friday, March 31, 2017 at 1:07 pm
                I have been reading this book and I can't wait to see wait happened I love the battle in the first book, but I was so sad when Alex and Aaron did not get back together
                • beanblob
                  beanblobSunday, May 29, 2016 at 8:15 pm
                  I have the first book of The Unwanteds series. I am really looking forward to reading the series this Summer!!!
                  • annalu
                    annaluMonday, March 14, 2016 at 11:22 am44 stars
                    While not as good as the book that came before it, the story that on folds in its pages is wonderful to be a part of
                    • lolo2006
                      lolo2006Tuesday, December 29, 2015 at 9:25 am55 stars
                      I LOVE The Unwanteds series!!!! I think this series is a real page turner and anybody that is interested in dystopia and a good fantasy book will LOVE this series as much as I did!