Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.279223
The fate of Artimé is at stake—and an unlikely alliance could redeem it—in book three in the New York Times bestselling Unwanteds series.

The magical world of Artimé is gone. The Unwanteds have no food, no water, and no hope. And everyone is looking to Alex Stowe for answers.

Overwhelmed and feeling totally helpless, Alex knows it’s up to him to find a way to restore Artimé, rescue his captive friends, and free Megan from her voice-stealing necklace of thorns—three impossible tasks. But could help lie with the silent, orange-eyed newcomers?

Meanwhile, Alex’s twin brother Aaron continues to build his army in the stark land of Quill, preparing for the ultimate showdown with the Unwanteds. But a shocking twist reveals that Alex and Aaron share a common enemy more dangerous than either could have imagined...
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on September 3, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442458453
ISBN-13: 9781442458451
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • xx6figuresxx
    xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:54 am55 stars
    My 2nd favorite series. This whole series is just outright awesome and insanely action packed with some hilarious moments and romance, its got everything.
    • kotlcfitzphie13
      kotlcfitzphie13Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 12:22 pm55 stars
      The magical world of Artimé is gone and the Unwanteds are looking to Alex Stowe for answers, and that's because Mr.Today died, but while his twin brother Aaron builds his army in Quill, a dangerous common enemy is revealed. With Mr. Today gone, what will Alex do to keep his people safe? Read this exciting book, for you won't regret it!
      • furandgills
        furandgillsThursday, March 21, 2019 at 4:06 pm55 stars
        I was so happy Simber came back at the beginning. Also who else knew that the dots were from the painting because I did and I was like urging Alex saying that they were the dots. Overall, I thought it was interesting how they got Sam&Lani, also when are they getting the mom, I think that it the next book!! Can’t wait, just started it today.
        • COOL GIRLWednesday, June 1, 2016 at 6:06 am
          I HAVE NOT STARTED TO READ THE BOOK BUTTTTTTTT, WHEN I SAW THAT IT HAD 5 STARS I WAS LIKE : WHOOOOOAAAAAA
          • beanblob
            beanblobSunday, May 29, 2016 at 8:15 pm
            I have the first book of The Unwanteds series. I am really looking forward to reading the series this Summer!!!
            • lolo2006
              lolo2006Sunday, January 17, 2016 at 11:11 am55 stars
              The best i book i've ever read!
              • gretaThursday, January 7, 2016 at 6:59 pm
                I've read this whole series and it is so good i can not wait for the 7th book to come out
                • lolo2006
                  lolo2006Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 5:26 pm55 stars
                  I love the Unwanteds series especially the third book!!! Lisa McMann is a great author!!! There was a cliffhanger at the end that made me want to read the 4th book at that moment. Can't wait to read it!
                  • crosover25
                    crosover25Monday, September 21, 2015 at 11:11 am55 stars
                    Marcus was killed so Alex has to figure out how to rebuild atemy and save the statue before he is destroyed under water.
                    • maddyp18
                      maddyp18Saturday, September 5, 2015 at 6:03 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book so so much!!!!! It is the 3rd book in the Unwanteds series. This book is about a wizard named Alex, who has to do 3 what seem like impossible things: 1. make Artimē magically appear (their home); 2. somehow save Lani and Samheed (their friends); 3. win the war (between Alex and Aaron). In this book, anything is possible. My favorite character was Alex because of his bravery. For example, he was very brave when he want to rescue Lani and Sameed on the Warbler island. This book had a very big cliffhanger ending. I haven't read the next book yet but I hope that it will ease the cliffhanger a bit it stopped in a very bad part and I really want to know what happens. A sign of a great book! If you want to find out more read the book!!!!