Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

This is the story of two totally different girls—
quiet, shy, artistic Emmie
popular, outgoing, athletic Katie
—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .

All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006248494X
ISBN-13: 9780062484949
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reiley628576
    reiley628576Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 1:31 pm55 stars
    This book is a good book to relate to if you are shy or just came to a new school.I started at a new school in 3rd grade and I am is 6th grade now.It was really hard at first and I was shy like Emmie. My friend now who was really popular and athletic so she was like Katie.This is a really good and fun book to read.This book is about two different sides of a story one is of a shy girl named emmie and a popular girl named katie.This is a really fun and good book to read.
    • papers
      papersTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 7:07 pm55 stars
      It's about two girls who are So different and There's Emmie and she's not popular and she's teased a lot and it's a good book for 3rd-5th and i liked it and it's a Graphic novel and i recommend it
      • bookwormdude29
        bookwormdude29Wednesday, July 24, 2019 at 2:57 pm55 stars
        This is a great book that all shy people without many friends can relate to. Emmie, a shy artist, is suddenly greatly noticed, but definitely not in a good way: after writing a deep love poem about her crush, Tyler Ross, Emmie drops her poem and it gets in the hands of the school clown, Joe, who tells everybody about Emmie’s feelings for Tyler. At the same time, Katie, a popular girl in the same school as Emmie who also likes Tyler, is a little surprised at the news at first, but then pities Emmie because she is so embarrassed. In the end, however, almost all goes back to normal. Still curious about what happens? Four words: READ THIS BOOK!,
        • hedgeguin2
          hedgeguin2Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 7:13 am55 stars
          Invisible Emmie is about a girl named Emmie and another girl named Katie. They live very different lives, Emmie is quiet and shy, but Katie is popular, outgoing, and people love to be with her. Their lives get mixed up with one single note, and soon both of the, experience what it’s like to be each other. Through this journey, Emmie and Katie both learn what it’s like to be someone else, and if they like it that way.
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprSunday, June 9, 2019 at 1:09 pm55 stars
            It all starts when a love letter from the quiet girl, Emmie, is accidentally slipped out and soon the whole school knows about it. But when the most popular girl and Emmie start to change their roles, something happens. I would recommend this for ages 10+ So I really loved this book because the character's feelings were super easy to feel and the plot was super cool. I would recommend this to fans of Raina Telgeimer.
            • applebutter
              applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:25 pm55 stars
              This book is so good. It shows the struggles of being the youngest in the family and how you always need to be yourself. If you like Raina Telgemeier you will defiantly like this book. OH and another plus this book has a sequel :)
              • kruzingwithk9s
                kruzingwithk9sThursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:42 am55 stars
                Emmie is shy, likes to draw, and has only one friend. Katie. Who is popular, outgoing, and has a lot of friends, Emmie and her friend Brianna make joke notes to there crushes, but when Emmie loses hers by mistake... Katie starts standing up for Emmie when shes too shy to. What will happen to the both of them? READ IT
                • kdsoccer28
                  kdsoccer28Saturday, April 20, 2019 at 6:23 am55 stars
                  it is a great book i love it so much and i feel like everyone should read it
                  • aesthetix
                    aesthetixFriday, April 19, 2019 at 7:09 pm55 stars
                    Enjoyable and easy to read. It was a relatable book and I think that many kids who have/will read this book will find it a comfort to know they're not alone. :)
                    • chlooe
                      chlooeThursday, March 14, 2019 at 5:04 pm44 stars
                      Invisible Emmie is a book about a girl that really wants to be like THE girl. At school, she feels like she's invisible and wants her crush, Tyler Ross to notice her. When it's lunchtime and Emmie and her BFF, Bri, they both write gushy-mushy love letters about their crushes. After lunch, Emmie rushes out and accidentally drops her note. A guy named Joe picks it up and shows everyone that Emmie knows the note. When Emmie finds out that the note is spreading fast like wildfire, she gets more 'anti-social' and she's starting to get quieter. Emmie then starts to get emotional and cries in the bathroom. A really popular girl notices Emmie and starts to 'save' her from her misery. When Emmie starts to boost herself up and get more sociable, she forgets about the popular girl (Katie). I want to stop it here because I want you to experience this story, and this will be recommended to those who always felt invisible and insecure. Enjoy the book!