Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.814925

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama—this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration.

For all the ten years of her life, Hà has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Hà discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food . . . and the strength of her very own family.

This moving story of one girl's year of change, dreams, grief, and healing received four starred reviews, including one from Kirkus which proclaimed it "enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny." An author's note explains how and why Thanhha Lai translated her personal experiences into Hà's story.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 24, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062574027
ISBN-13: 9780062574022
148 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tiffytafy
    tiffytafyTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 4:59 am55 stars
    It was good
    • mia_13
      mia_13Monday, February 11, 2019 at 3:07 pm44 starsFeatured
      I liked how Inside Out And Back Again by Thanhha Lai grasped the emotions of many readers. With the mystery of Ha's father, it's difficult to stop yourself from reading. An emotional aspect was when Ha took readers through her journey of the Vietnam war reaching her hometown. What will her family do in this situation? Keep reading to find out! Ha also goes through many phases of people bullying her and she doesn't quite know what to do. You'll have so much respect for people from different cultures trying to adjust. I wish the book would give more backstory on Ha's father. It's all talk and no action of what he actually did. I would definitely recommend reading the book!
      • cluckey
        cluckeyMonday, February 11, 2019 at 8:20 am
        The book Inside Out And Back Again by Thanhha Lai was a amazing book, telling us Ha's emotions on her life adventure while hoping her father will come home. He has been gone for 9 years because of the Vietnam war. I feel like I was in the book and think that others would to because of the troubles she went through on the boat to get a new life and her challenges getting to Alabama. The best part was the end of the story when they found that the truth about her dad.
        • lovejojo05
          lovejojo05Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 8:18 am55 stars
          Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai has it all: interest, sadness, shock - all in one. I love the intriguing journey that Ha goes through in her life from her little home in Saigon to traveling on a boat to another country. Also, I love the mood changes when Ha goes from finding a lovely home in a new country with some new people to having a heartbreaking moment with someone in her life. One thing I wish was there's a sequel. I really want to know what happens in Ha's life next! I would definitely recommend this book to everyone.
          • aurthor
            aurthorWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 1:56 pm55 stars
            I really loved reading Inside Out & Back Again ,It was written very well and it wasn't cliche. In this story Ha and her family have to move to America because the Vietnam war.Then they all had to adapt to their new life's in America. A main problem was that her dad was gone and it built a lot of anticipation through the book while other things were going on.This book has a lot of soul and heart put into it and I think that other readers would really appreciate it too. I really wish that there was a sequel and i'm absolutely going to be reading more books by Thanhha Lai in the future.
            • PuppyLoverFriday, January 25, 2019 at 3:16 pm
              This is an amazing book! It is very emotional and sad at some parts and it will really make you feel like you are actually in the main character’s shoes. I love how the book is written in poetic form. I am not a big fan of poetry, but Thanhha Lai writes so beautifully that it is most definitely worth it. Also, it is cool how the author bases the main character, Hà, off of her own experiences and life. Read the author’s note! I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a heart-warming story. Inside Out & Back Again is definitely one of my all time favorite books. READ IT!
              • lol121Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 10:35 am
                I love this book I am reading it in my book group!
                • soccerrunner
                  soccerrunnerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:49 am55 stars
                  I read this book in class with my partner. It was amazing! I love that it is written in poetic verse! My favorite chapter was eggs (for the record).
                  • moon_kira
                    moon_kiraMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:55 am55 stars
                    IT IS A GOOD book
                    • payton_flusche
                      payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:50 am55 stars
                      it is a really good book! if you are reading this commnet READ THIS BOOK!!!

                      Our Apps and Plugins