Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7T5.6184486
The captivating sequel to INKHEART, the critically acclaimed, international bestseller by Cornelia Funke, an author who is emerging as a truly modern classic writer for children.

Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of INKHEART, the book whose characters became real. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds a crooked storyteller with the ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of his past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie, and before long, both are caught inside the book, too. But the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.
Hardcover, 635 pages
Published on October 1, 2005 by The Chicken House
ISBN-10: 0439554004
ISBN-13: 9780439554008
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gaytoastyb0i
    gaytoastyb0iMonday, October 19, 2020 at 6:39 pm33 stars
    i am currently reading this book and i do not like it so far, it is not a hood starting point from where the last book stopped. Granted i have only read the fist few chapters but still i do not like it so far and do not reccomend it.
    • sophia_g
      sophia_gMonday, February 24, 2020 at 5:31 am55 stars
      Inkspell, the story that takes place a year after the events of Inkheart, where Dustfinger returns to the Inkheart after a storyteller brought him in there, leaving his friend Farid. Meggie somehow gets in this situation and the adventures begin. The storytelling is great and the plot flows smoothly and it was really a page-turner for me, giving this book 5 stars. The characters actions relates to me on a personal level. I recommend this book for middle school and higher who love fantasy and adventure in their books (after you read the first book).
      • dracom
        dracomMonday, November 5, 2018 at 6:49 am44 stars
        I read this book because I watched the movie of the book prior to Inkspell when i was 6 and I remember LOVING it. I recommend this book if you love to read. WARNING they do curse in the book if you wanted to know. AND a kissing scene btw.
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:27 am55 stars
          This book was even better than the first one in this series. Though, all of these books are amazing, this is the one that will always hold a place in my heart.
          • emily800
            emily800Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 5:44 pm44 stars
            Really good book! lot's of adventure and suspense. Exciting and I recommend it to bookworms and fantasy lovers.
            • rainbow_unicorn
              rainbow_unicornMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:52 pm
              I read Inkheart and think this book is probably amazing as the first book
              • cjtheboss
                cjthebossMonday, November 14, 2016 at 8:37 am
                Its so awesome and I love the thought of Meggie and Farid being together.
                • grace411
                  grace411Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 12:30 pm
                  I read Inkspell. Meggie reads herself into the book. Can she get out? Her father might die. Her mother is scared. People attack and they are going to hang Meggie and her father. Will they live? Who is the bluebird? Read it yourself to find out.
                  • annalovesbooks
                    annalovesbooksThursday, February 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm44 stars
                    i love it
                    • personThursday, January 7, 2016 at 7:59 pm
                      loved it