Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.4146809
From the author of the sensational New York Times best-seller THE THIEF LORD comes a thrilling new adventure about magic and self-discovery.

Cornelia Funke, the enormously talented author of the international best-seller THE THIEF LORD, brings readers another spellbinding tale of adventure and magic.
Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a book-binder. But her father has a deep secret-- he posseses an extraordinary magical power. One day a mysterious stranger arrives who seems linked to her father's past. Who is this sinister character and what does he want? Suddenly Meggie is involved in a breathless game of escape and intrigue as her father's life is put in danger. Will she be able to save him in time?
Paperback, 576 pages
Published on September 27, 2003 by Chicken House Ltd
ISBN-10: 1904442218
ISBN-13: 9781904442219
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Yelda22Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:02 pm
    I flew through this book and couldn't put it down! I immediately read the other books. You should defiantly read this book. I would think that you could do it from 3rd grade to 8th! One of my 3 FAVORITE books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • rylan99
      rylan99Monday, August 5, 2019 at 4:40 pm55 stars
      best book this summer i read
      • manahilali
        manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
        BEST BOOK EVER! Loved it. I would highly recommend it to adolescents. It is the first of the series. the other two books are Inkspell and Inkdeath. You will love them all.
        • remusfan12
          remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
          I really want to read the next two books i'm so excited.
          • remusfan12
            remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:47 am55 stars
            my mom used to read this book to me every night and I would literally scream at her until she read more. I decided to re read this book and i can't wait to finish. I love books almost as much as meggie does and this is one of my favorites
            • mathboy123
              mathboy123Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
              this book is awesome. It is filled with rich scenes as well as many plot twists. very good, i would recommend it to someone
              • A Human BeingThursday, January 24, 2019 at 10:34 am
                This book is awful. It is a dull landslide that calls itself a book, with boring, one-dimensional characters that are written terribly, and a plot like, " And then this happened. " So bad I could hardly read it. Don't waste your time with this one.
                • remusfan12
                  remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:48 am55 stars
                  Well, I liked it Books are cool
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 11:26 am55 stars
                  I got this series for Christmas a few years ago and fell in love with the writing. The authour does not disappoint with amazing powers, thought provoking scenes and characters that you fall in love with. This book is great.
                  • rainbow_unicorn
                    rainbow_unicornMonday, November 13, 2017 at 5:56 pm55 stars
                    I love how Cornelia Funke wrote the book and also the story is exciting because first of all Resa Meggies mom gets sucked up into the book. and so on. It is such a great story I would totally recommend it.
                    • iamsmartoday
                      iamsmartodayTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
                      This book is really good and full of fantasy and fun moments. I reccomend this to people who enjoy emotional and spooky stories and also to book lovers all around!