Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle)

Book 4 of 4 in the The Inheritance Cycle Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a7.5280712
Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.

Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.

The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

This is the much-anticipated, astonishing conclusion to the worldwide bestselling Inheritance cycle.
Hardcover, 860 pages
Published on November 8, 2011 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375856110
ISBN-13: 9780375856112
27 Book Reviews
  • chromatic1
    chromatic1about 2 years55 stars
    Nice book
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderover 2 years55 stars
      I love this book! It is the last book in the Inheritance cycle! This was my favorite book of them all! I love this series and will read it a lot of times. My favorite part was when Eragon defeated Galbatorix by using one word: Knowledge. I recommend this book to ages 12 and up, due to violence.
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarover 2 years55 stars
        The final book of the Inheritance series starts off with Eragon, Arya, Saphira, Blodhgarm, and some of the troops head off to Dras-Leona. When they arrived, Murtagh and Thorn were already waiting for them at the gates. Murtagh tells them that he doesn't want to fight them, but he was forced to swear his allegiance to Galbatorix. A few days later, a scholar named Joed, convinced that there were a system on tunnels underneath the city, tells Nasuada and Eragon. Nasuada sends Eragon, Arya, the herbalist Angela, and few others to locate and infiltrate the city. Inside the tunnels, the group was attacked and pursued by men serving the priests of Helgrind, who capture Eragon and Arya. The priests, who were angered that Eragon killed some of their gods, the Ra'zac, left them bound in a room with two Ra'zac eggs that were about to hatch. Eragon and Arya both manage to escape and with Saphira they fought Murtagh and Thorn. Murtagh leaves, but in the middle of the night, he attacks the Varden's camp and captures Nasuada. Eragon, Saphira, and Glaedr then secretly leave to find the Rock of Kuthian, in hopes it holds the key to defeating Galbatorix. After finding the Rock, they return to the Varden, where they left for Uru'baen to fight Galbatorix. I enjoyed this book the most out of the whole series because of the plot and the adventure! I also recommend this book to those who want to find out how the series ends!
        • nac
          nacover 2 years55 stars
          The closer Eragon and Saphira get to Galbatorix, the closer they get to the biggest challenge of their lives, the battle they have been training for ever since they began their journey as a dragon and rider. And after a turn of unexpected events, Eragon is forced to take control of the varden, and he realizes that his only hope to defeat Galbatorix is to seek out power enough to match that of the mad king. This leads him on an epic adventure, full of strange creatures and powerful enemies, betrayals and unexpected friends. This book is an EPIC ending to the amazing Inheritance Cycle, but it is sad to see Eragon's adventures come to an end.
          • aliyahstorm
            aliyahstormover 3 years55 stars
            This is a very, very good book. Has minor cussing and gore. If you have not read the first 3 books, read them! Them are so good!
            • thatonebookworm
              thatonebookwormalmost 5 years55 stars
              loved it, read it a million times.
              • doglover68
                doglover68over 6 years
                omg best series ever epic try it on Autible on the app store if you have trouble pronouncing the names.
                • saphlover249
                  saphlover249over 6 years55 stars
                  great if you love harry potter and lord of the rings
                  • tashadtasha
                    tashadtashaalmost 7 years55 stars
                    It was a great book, but it is unfortunate that Paolini puts paragraphs of pointless adjectives and I have to read through all of them.
                    • nicdro
                      nicdroalmost 7 years
                      Inheritance by: Christopher Paolini Reviewed by: Nick Drown Gr. 7 “Inheritance” by Christopher Paolini takes place in the ancient realm of Alagaesia where a hero’s struggle for the final battle against his antagonist Galbatorix - the evil king of Alagaesia - may or may not be successful. The kingdom of Alagaesia is a lot like the middle ages in the sense that there are castles and dragons, swords and shields. Elves, Dwarves, Urgals, and Ra’Zac roam the kingdom and make their civilizations throughout the Empire. The hero is Eragon and he is struggling to win the war against Galbatorix. Many times he has tried to thwart the mad king’s plans, and many times he has failed. Galbatorix is a usurper and his people live in fear. Eragon hopes to stop Galbatorix’s reign of terror by overthrowing him. Galbatorix seems to be winning the battles with the laughing dead - men who can feel no pain. Eragon must beat him or the Varden will die. Even though they are winning, the Empire is very worried. Galbatorix is insane, and the Varden have ACTUALLY captured two of their strongest cities: Gil’ead and Dras-Leona. The, Empire send out hundreds - even THOUSANDS of men but the Varden win most of the battles no matter what the odds. Now, because of a werecat’s prophecy, Eragon must journey to the Rock of Kuthian in order to find the power that will help him fight against Galbatorix. This could very well be the turning point of the war. What he finds there is legendary, perhaps even more than he can handle. He finds his true name and unlocks the Rock of Kuthian, which is the Vault of Dragon Souls, but, can he control what he finds? Saphira, Eragon’s great dragon, is one of the three dragons left on Alagaesia after Galbatorix’s purge and almost Extinction of Dragons. Saphira battles the two other dragons, Thorn and Shruikan, endangering her safety and the safety of her race. With two Dragons against her, can Saphira defeat her foes? However, unfortunately, if she kills them, she is the last of her kind. “Inheritance” by Christopher Paolini is a truly wonderful book and is full of action, adventure, suspense, and surprises that are unforgettable.