Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a4.051188

For fans of Gabrielle Zevin and Lurlene McDaniel, In a Heartbeat explores the ties of family and the weight of regret when a mistake costs Eagan her life during a figure-skating competition. Left in the afterlife, reflecting on what she could have done differently, Eagan's still-beating heart is given to Amelia who has been waiting patiently for a transplant. When their thought, feelings, and dreams begin to mysteriously overlap, Amelia knows she must search for Eagan's family and find a way to give them all the closure they need move on.

Praise for In a Heartbeat:

"[A] dramatic story of loss and second chances. . . a highly satisfying read." -Booklist

"Readers will likely come away teary-eyed and inspired." -Publishers Weekly

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 15, 2011 by Walker Childrens
ISBN-10: 0802722342
ISBN-13: 9780802722348
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • doglover15
    doglover15Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at 5:31 pm55 stars
    This tearjerker is about a girl named Amelia who needs a heart transplant and Eagen who died. In the book you see both sides of these 2 girls about why Eagen died and what happens when Amelia gets her new heart. Eagen was Amelia's donor. I highly recommend this book!!
    • gbarker
      Mrs. BarkerSaturday, January 10, 2015 at 12:09 pm44 stars
      Great book. I have always wondered if people who received organs from another person felt different. Made me cry and laugh all at the same time.
      • hvk3301
        hvk3301Wednesday, December 12, 2012 at 3:41 pm55 stars
        best book ever
        • Yazmin:)Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 7:17 am
          This Book. . . Makes You Cry :( Though Teaches The Most Important Things. LOVED IT! <3
          • jamieWednesday, November 14, 2012 at 7:08 pm
            Do you guys know if this is a nonfiction or fiction? Btw, i loved this book, i was just wondering if it were nonfiction so i could use it for my proj.!!
            • jasmineMonday, October 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm
              i think it is a really good book and i almost cryed during the book
              • coolface
                coolfaceTuesday, May 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm55 stars
                I love this book it felt like it was so good and it had me crying because it was soo sad.
                • kstar
                  kstarTuesday, May 1, 2012 at 11:36 am55 stars
                  i have it but I haven't read it yet. I hope it's good :) it looks a little bit sad though
                  • gummy_gurl
                    gummy_gurlSaturday, February 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm
                    When a small mistake costs sixteen-year-old Eagan her life during a figure-skating competition, she leaves many things unreconciled, including her troubled relationship with her mother. From her vantage point in the afterlife, Eagan reflects back on her memories, and what she could have done differently, through her still-beating heart. When fourteen-year-old Amelia learns she will be getting a heart transplant, her fear and guilt battle with her joy at this new chance at life. And afterwards when she starts to feel different—dreaming about figure skating, craving grape candy—her need to learn about her donor leads her to discover and explore Eagan’s life, meeting her grieving loved ones and trying to bring the closure they all need to move on.
                    • marlene2
                      marlene2Monday, February 20, 2012 at 4:25 pm
                      This book is one one of the most amazing books that I have ever read. It really put a whole new perspective on they way I looked at life and at death. I would recommend this book to all girls.