Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8X4.454786
More Grimm tales await in the harrowing, hilarious companion to a beloved new classic

Take caution ahead--
Oversize plant life, eerie amphibious royalty, and fear-inducing creatures abound.

Lest you enter with dread.
Follow Jack and Jill as they enter startling new landscapes that may (or may not) be scary, bloody, terrifying, and altogether true.

Step lively, dear reader . . .
Happily ever after isn't cutting it anymore.

In this companion novel to Adam Gidwitz's widely acclaimed, award-winning debut, A Tale Dark & Grimm, Jack and Jill explore a new set of tales from the Brothers Grimm and others, including Jack and the Beanstalk and The Frog Prince.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on September 27, 2012 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 9780525425816
ISBN-13: 9780525425816
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chesniu
    chesniuThursday, April 27, 2017 at 8:00 am44 stars
    Didn't get to finish but really good.
    • locker33453
      locker33453Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7:00 am44 stars
      This book was really good. It was funny and witty. The characters sometimes feel a little bland, but most of the time they have lots of character. People who don't like blood and gore would hate this book, though, as it is a pretty disturbing book. I would not recommend to little kids, but nine and up, go read this, it's great.
      • ari211
        ari211Tuesday, February 7, 2017 at 9:33 am
        I am almost done with this book and it is amazing
        • fastflash
          fastflashThursday, January 26, 2017 at 7:41 am33 stars
          the first one is better
          • preyes23
            preyes23Wednesday, February 17, 2016 at 7:27 am
            i really liked this book and i think you would like it alot
            • rainbopupp
              rainbopuppMonday, June 15, 2015 at 3:25 pm33 stars
              It was pretty good, I mean I didn't love it but, it wasn't bad. There are two kids named Jack and Jill, there is a frog, a ginat salamander that breaths fire and three ravens. What I don't like is Is it wasn't that interesting. It's just there are better books.
              • ediggins8347
                ediggins8347Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 11:22 am55 stars
                if you liked reading a tale dark and grimm read the second book! :-)
                • agentkitka
                  agentkitkaThursday, April 23, 2015 at 8:23 pm55 stars
                  This book was just great you just have to read it also kids under 10 don't read it it's not for them.
                  • peanut630
                    peanut630Tuesday, January 20, 2015 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                    It was so good,I read it in 2 days!
                    • sidneyisawesome
                      sidneyisawesomeSaturday, November 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm55 stars
                      It is boring at first.But after a while it starts to get funny and cool